Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16972
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.2
Persons: 2 (couple)
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16972
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 18, 2012

Welcome to beautiful South Gippsland, an area rich in history and beautiful landscapes. Primarily a dairy farming area, we also have magnificant beaches and National Parks. Korumburra used to be a coal mining area 100 years ago and the Coal Creek Heritage Village is open to visitors free from Thurs to Mon.
We are only 20 mins from beautiful Inverloch beach, and 40 mins from Philip Island where you can see the fairy penquins and Seal Rocks. We are also close to Wilson's Prom, many winerys, the natural vast coastline of Southern Victoria, Wonthaggi coalmine and many other natural and historical sites.
Our property is 5km out of town, and is abundant with birds, including a large family of Kookaburras, parrots and other native animals, including possums, wombats, kangaroos, ducks and frogs. We keep chickens, hens and a rooster that free range and 1 little dog. Our property is surrounded by dairy farms, so there are often cows and calves at the fences watching us!
We have recently bought a small 3 acre block with beautiful views of Wilson's Prom and Bass Strait. We are currently establishing the property, which has a half built brick and stone house on it, so we are all living in caravans for a short time, while we finish off the house.
We would love a couple of helpers to come and stay and experience this beautiful area. We can provide a large caravan with double bed for you to stay in, and have a small laundry/shower/toilet outhouse that we all utilise. We would provide 3 meals per day, you can eat with us or prepare your own in your van.
We ask for 4-6hrs work per person 5 days/week in return and you could do extra hours on some days to have extra full days free. There may be some certain days that we would need help on, especially some Saturdays, when we try to get as much of the house preparations done.
There is lots of work to be done clearing areas of dead blackberries, cutting wood, and establishing the gardens and paths, as well as general labour in cleaning the house site and moving bricks. There would be digging and gardening that can be done. We try to be as organic as possible, but have needed to use sprays to clear large blackberry infested areas.

Applicants need to be physically fit and have travellers insurance. You would be very welcome to stay for a couple of weeks or couple of months, whichever suits. We will provide 3 meals per day. We have shower/toilet/laundry facilities.
We look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use