help exchange   Host 17011
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St Georges de Rouelley
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17011
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 18, 2015

We live in the beautiful Normandie Bocage Mortanais, within the boundaries of the Normandy Maine natural park less than 500m from a listed site of natural beauty. We are an early retired professional English couple, who put our roots down here some years ago and live privately with our substantial menagerie of animals; 8 horses, 4 dogs (3 rescues, 8 cats, all rescues) and chickens.

We have had self sufficiency experience in the UK any many years of hands on property renovation and improvements. Over here developing our house and our equine infrastructure are ongoing projects. Our horses are our passion, with our orientation being towards horsemanship and western riding. We are located in a fantastic trail riding area, which is also great for helpers who in their leisure time like walking, painting, photography, cycling, fishing (with permit) and even climbing. We are only 10 km from the nearest town with a beautiful medieval old town and fort. You must be over 18 and if young, mature for your age. We host helpers all year round (so far most come from another site, hence not many references here) and we host helpers for a minimum of 2 weeks but now find most are staying at least a month, which works well. We are a bit isolated but do have bicycles available.

We seek helpers who can help with:

The twice a day animal routine.
Maintenance work around the outside and developing outdoors.
The renovation and extension of our house and the continuing development of the outside.

Our animals have a twice a day routine, everyday of the year. It should be noted that though we love our animals, they are not cute cuddly toys. If you are experienced with horses, being able to work them on the ground and ride very well, we do have work for the right helpers to work with young horses.

Other outdoor projects include, continuing the development of our equine infrastructure, fencing and its maintenance, recovering ground from the undergrowth, building shelters for logs, cutting logs and storing, external painting etc.

The renovation projects include the continuing renovation of our house to create another bedroom and dining room along with fitting out new utility areas. Help would be appreciated with carpentry, insulation, plasterboarding and its prep for painting, tiling, painting, running conduits for electric cables and even joinery.

Gardening is both on ornamental beds and the new raised bed organic veg garden. This has had lots of help from helpers and we wish to continue this development as a way of providing more food to the kitchen, with known sourcing and freshness. Eventually we would like to join wwoof as well, so permaculturists welcome.
Outdoor projects include, continuing the development of our equine infrastructure, fencing and its maintenance, recovering ground from the undergrowth, building shelters for logs, external painting etc.

Our current sleeping accommodation. This currently comprises of a guest room and two berth caravan. We can welcome motor homes as well and provide an electric hook up point.

WiFi is provided, bring your own laptop etc for internet access. Hours are 4 to 5 a day with about 2 to 3 on Sunday (horses still need feeding,watering and mucking out).

We expect helpers to be mature, clean, tidy, have common sense, initiative and a strong work ethic. You do need to be genuinely comfortable working with and around the animals we have and also not have allergies to them (we have cats and dogs in the house, but not in the sleeping areas). Since lots of our routines with the animals are fairly fixed, helpers must blend in with them and not change them.

We favour people who also like cooking as it spreads the load and makes for new shared experiences. We don't suit vegetarians or other special diets or picky eaters. We produce our own chicken eggs and sometimes chickens for meat, so we don't suit those who don't like this way of life. There will be a trial period to make sure we all get along: past experience says this is generally within 5 days.

If you are a competent, sensible and sensitive horse rider we have horses to ride out as a group. Riding does not form part of the work (unless otherwise agreed, depending on skills) but is a leisure activity strictly at our discretion and weather depending. We do not teach riding, but helpers can generally join us for weekly western riding lessons (when available). This is at the helpers own cost.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use