Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 17023
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 52
Persons: 1 or more
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17023
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 1, 2016

** We are not currently looking for helpers **

I have a large mostly wild acreage with hardwood forests, wetlands, some meadow, river frontage, a small garden and a pasture for the laying hens as well as a small pond with ducks. This year I am planting an unheated greenhouse for the first time. I am guided by permaculture and biodynamic principles, and motivated by a commitment to honour the holy in nature.

The farm is situated in the beautiful Thousand Islands region of Canada, about 30 kms northeast of Kingston and a modest bike ride into the town of Gananoque. We are midway between Toronto and Montreal, and less than 2 hours from Ottawa, our nation's capital.

There is a separate one room "bunkhouse" with double bed, desk, wardrobe etc (including electricity) with a nearby outhouse. You would have access to the house for showering. There are acres of woods to explore, and a kayak (single) and canoe available to paddle the river if you like. Food is mostly organic, with a focus on locally-sourced, available for you to prepare for breakfast and lunch. The evening meal is a joint effort, with folks either pitching in with prep or clean-up.

The expectation is that you would be willing to contribute approximately 25 hrs per week. I am open to various arrangements (eg. 5 hrs/day with 2 free days, 6 hrs/day with 3 free days etc), including fewer hours overall, with meals/accommodations reflective of that.

There is also a self-contained larger cabin with kitchen facilities (rustic!) which is available to someone interested in a longer-term stay / more independence (with fewer work-hours expected).

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use