Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 17046
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .2
Persons: Single or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17046
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 1, 2018

HELP NEEDED NOW with garden and shed clean-up. Prefer physically fit, independent, competent single person who has already had work experience. Couples only if both are willing to work.


Your own comfortable room and a nice warm fire to snuggle by on these cold nights. This is a lovely half-acre garden property situated on a hillside with views out over the forest and within easy walking distance to the centre of Bridgetown, a sweet little town with cafes, pubs and specialty shops. The house is only 400 metres from the Blackwood River, where you can enjoy canoeing, Sunday Markets and walking along scenic walkways.

You'll be provided with comfortable accommodation in a quiet and relaxed home set in a lovely scenic location amid rolling hills and forest. I have a rooms available for a couple or two singles. Bridgetown is 270kms from Perth and is centrally located for day trips to see the many tourist attractions within 150km radius. Google Bridgetown and nearby towns such as Manjimup, Pemberton, Donnybrook, Balingup, Nannup and Bunbury.

For Nature lovers, my garden is a sanctuary for many colourful wild birds and you can meet kangaroos and emus at a location quite close to here. There are plenty of opportunities for photography, bush-walking in the forest and discovering Australian wildflowers.

I prepare good, healthy meals and can cater for gluten-free guests, as well as meat-eaters. There is wifi for those who need to keep in touch with friends in far places. Phone calls to fixed line phones within Australia are free, so it's a good place to stay while you're seeking paid work elsewhere.

I have traveled throughout Asia and South America and I'm interested to hear about your travels and culture at home. I'm also happy to help those who want to improve their conversational English. (But, sorry, I'm not able to host people who do not speak at least a basic standard of conversational English. You must be able to understand work instructions in English.)

Sorry, I cannot sign Second Year Visa applications because this is a house in town, not a farm. However I have friends who own orchards and farms, so there may be opportunities for jobs in nearby towns for Helpxers who demonstrate good work habits.


My illness prevents me from undertaking a lot of the physical tasks I used to be able to do so I need help in my garden and maintenance work that needs to be done on the house. I need helpers capable of doing physical work.


If you're a guest in my home I expect you to be honest, respectful, considerate and reliable in keeping agreements. You also need to be willing to work unsupervised and have an open and flexible attitude, because work plans may change dependent upon what's most urgently required at any given moment.

Since we're all adults now, when the day's work is finished you need to be capable of taking care of yourself and participating in household duties as would be expected in a "share house". I enjoy cooking, but prefer guests to help out with food preparation and dishes when asked. I also expect you'll be capable of pushing a vacuum cleaner or broom and hanging out laundry when required. You need to be conscious of conserving resources such as water and electricity too.

My immune system is lowered, so I can't host anyone who is carrying an infection or virus, especially the flu. Sorry, but one sick person in the house is enough. :(

If you're a big junk-food eater, you won't find those foods on the menu here. There are shops within walking distance if you want to buy your own "extras". I am also intolerant drunks and heavy drug users. Smoking is not permitted inside the house, but ok outside.


Mostly, you need to bring a positive attitude and a willingness to work, have fun and get the jobs done! I prefer guests who are easy-going, have a good sense of fun and a playful attitude. You'll need to bring work clothes and boots, a hat, insect repellent, sunscreen and sunglasses.


Please email for further details.

For those needing public transport, contact or call the TransWA Booking Centre on 1300 6622 05. There's a train from Perth to Bunbury which connects with a bus coming to Bridgetown every day.

If this sounds like your kind of helper experience, I look forward to hearing from you soon. :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use