Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 17073
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17073
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 6, 2018


Hi! We live in a converted windmill (see for a brief history) in about 2 acres of land including a swimming pool, with two dogs (a Basset Hound and a Springer), approximately 8 miles south-west of Cambridge. Cambridge is about 10 minutes away by train, and the nearest station is Shepreth - about 5-10 minutes by bike, which you have available to use. The same train line also gives access to London - about 50 minutes away.

We have 3 boys, Joshua (10), Phillip (8) and Henry (6), and require a Spanish-speaking mothers' help to provide (4-6 hours per weekday) assistance with looking after the boys, some housework, and occasional babysitting, in return for board and lodging (own room with free wifi). The reason for requiring a (native) Spanish-speaker is that in 2012 we returned from a 2 1/2 year stay in Seville, and we would like our boys to practice Spanish by being spoken to in this language several hours a day.

We think the position would suit an out-going person who wants to improve their English, (Rowena is a CELTA qualified English Teacher so help is always available!) probably studying a language course in Cambridge and / or generally someone who wants to see more of the area. Please note that we are NOT interested in people who intend to sign on for benefits and look for work - this is not the purpose of HelpX.

The person must (obviously) like children and dogs, and be a non-smoker. We also expect that you will make the most of your time with us and explore Cambridge and the surrounding area. At weekends your time is your own (unless babysitting is previously arranged) and we will provide breakfast and evening meal (not lunch, as we expect you to be out of the house at these times exploring the area, and in any case we are often not around at this time).

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use