Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 17255
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6700
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17255
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 5, 2014

We have a beef cattle and cereal grains farm in Central Queensland. Approx 16 km form the small town of Theodore, and 250 km from Rockhampton. We are a family run operation, with our three adult sons working with us. Sometimes, we need a bit of help with basic day to day stuff- feeding animals, cleaning sheds and animal stalls, fence building and repair, gardening, mowing, and assorted maintenance tasks. There are also times when household help is required - cooking, cleaning, ironing etc. We have been involved with International Agricultural Exchange Assn, as well as having employed a number of backpackers through different agencies. HelpX appeals to us, as we generally don't need full time help, just a few hours a day for a few weeks - this programme seems perfect! At the moment, we have a very old slab timber shed that's needing some repair, so we'd be especially keen to host anyone with a bit of building skill.
Hours of work would be approx 4 - 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. No expectation for weekend work.
The "Mum' in our operation also happens to be an artist, and the blog link above is to her artist blog - there is lots on there about what we do here on the farm though.
limited wireless internet is available, mobile phone coverage is available,through Telstra. Other carriers probably won't work here.
In the nearby area, things of interest would include: Isla Gorge National Park, and the community of Cracow - an old gold mining town with a very interesting and colourful history.
We have a lot of dogs - Kelpies, Border Collies and Cattle Dogs to work the stock, Cockerspaniels and Jack Russell Terriers as pets. We also have a couple of cats, some laying chickens, horses and lots of cattle (around 3,000)
As we grow beef for our livelihood, we eat a lot of meat! Meals here will always have meat in them.
None of us are smokers; we don't mind if you do, but not inside any buildings or vehicles.
Accommodation provided would be a couple of spare rooms in our home. We would love to hear from you if you have any questions!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use