Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 17450
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Hervey Bay
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17450
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2018

Gday Funseekers! Easy-goin Fun-luvin Canadian dude seeks like-minded to share in Mountain biking, walking, 4x4, flying (small aircraft lands on beach!), boating or kayaking adventures at Fraser Island, Utopia (mountain rock pools- see photos), Great Sandy Straits (whale watching, boating, fishing) and surrounds. I`ve worked as a Ranger-guide on Fraser for many years with Kingfisher with extensive experience mountain biking there (you can`t bike everywhere there as the sand tracks are commonly too soft to ride as they are continuously torn up by 4x4s). We are in no rush in our fun-seeking and the ride is fantastic! Far better than the 4x4 coaches I used to drive! I love the island and surrounding area and would love to share it with you. Come enjoy it as mother nature intended with environmentally sensitive biking, hiking, fishing, or boating (wakeboarding, skiing, tubing, crabbing, spear fishing) tours to suit. Or if ya don`t have much time, I can be convinced into piling into one of my 4x4 vans (seats 8).

I have 8 extra bikes (can get more) and support vans to carry camping gear. It is quite expensive to take a vehicle over: $100 permits + $180 on barge (includes 4 people, ~$20/extra person) + fuel, or we can pack light or make the most of eating at resorts whilst there. I`m pretty flexible and willing to tailor a tour to suit!

I offer work for accommodation helping me around my house/organic garden or in my handyman, or touring businesses. I buy and sell homes to renovate so there is always plenty to do and I can find some task for anyone of any experience. Currently I live in a renovation home so expect unfinished projects/vehicles/mess in the yard/home, though kitchen and main living areas are clean.

I can especially use mechanics, (motorbike, car, small engine, bike/bicycle), plasterers, fibreglassers, auto/marine sparkys/electricians, welders, and kite-surfing instructors. I've had many guests and some of these have used this situation to get their 2nd year visa. I do ask for $100 security/damage/key deposit that is refunded when you leave. Work is 3 hr/day accommodation only, 4 if I provide food. Please note that if your profile doesn't detail anything about you or your qualifications, I will likely indicate "I`m full"! If you can't put a little effort into your profile, why would anyone risk their home and lifestyle to invite you to stay? Please send your CV/resume with any other skills/experience you might have so I can see where I might fit you into my job list.

To do from Hervey bay: Rainbow beach surf missions and Carlo sand blow, double island lighthouse, feed the dolphins in Tin Can Bay, 2hrs to Steve Irwin zoo, Noosa, Glass House mountains, Museums, go-carts, trampoline world, water slides, Utopia mountain rock pools, Pelican Island, mountain bike/motorbike trails, beach hiking, and much more.

Home is on quiet street, 5 min walk to: boat harbor, tourist shops, shark show, aquarium, 10+ restaurants, 1.8km fishing pier (I have gear - you catch dinner!), esplanade, shops (Woolies very good for recyclers if you`re that way inclined!), 6 bars/pubs, sports center, Muay Thai/Jujitsu gym, Botanic Gardens, parks x7 (tennis courts, play gyms, 2 bike paths across town).

Home features 10 ft projector screen in home theater, slammin sound/karaoke system (brings XBox/PS2 and parties to life!), bars, home gym, badminton/volleyball grass court, basketball court, table tennis, darts, air hockey, foosball, board games (you can`t beat me at chess ;) ), washing facilities, ample fridge and freezer space, BBQs, fire pit, ample parking on wide quiet street, tree house, chooks, organic veggie garden and fruit trees, and more.

Nearby access to tennis/basketball courts at school 1 block away, movie/video game collection, Internet, Aldi, post office, shops.

I have chooks. I go to bed relatively early week nights as I have a liver condition (Saturday night is my party night so that's generally when I'd have others round to hang round the fire, games, etc, or party with us). I am extremely active having Muay Thai, Jujitsu, Escrima (martial arts weapons training), fire twirling, Fencing, badminton, table tennis, volleyball, and other things on 7 days a week, which you`re welcome to join me in.

Must be honest, quiet, clean, considerate, smoke only outside. Thanks for looking! :)

I don't do couch surfing much preferring Helpx but you can see more about via my CS website link about.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use