Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 17746
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

KYLE of Lochalsh
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: up to 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17746
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 14, 2016

We are a family with a house under renovation in a small village in a stunning area of west-coast Scotland, within a stone's throw (OK, 5 miles) of Isle of Skye and other major outdoor destinations in this area.

We host couch-surfers short term, but we are happy to have people stay for longer in exchange for some help with the house and the garden. Anybody with any renovation or gardening experience would be ideal but there is also much fairly simple labour including digging and the like.

The helpers will stay in a 4-berth caravan which has electricity (we also provide a heater) chemical toilet, basic stuff like a kettle and a electric plate for cooking if you wish. We can also provide sheets and sleeping bags/blankets.

The house has a shower, washing machine, drier etc but is fairly spartan otherwise.

If you want to stay for up to 3 days please ask via our couch-surfing profile, for longer periods we are happy to have you if we get on, but we would expect some help with the work at hand, for accommodation only about 2-2.5 hours a day/15h week and for accommodation and three meals (one of them can be packed lunch if you want to go out exploring), about 3.5-4 hours a day (up to 25h/week). Please note that I won't be able to provide full vegetarian or vegan meals at all times as we are not vegetarian and you would be sharing our food, though you are welcome to simply have more of the non-meat part of any meal.

We can also help you with travel in the area, provide local information and similar.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use