Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 17867
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April - October
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17867
Country: Slovakia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 13, 2018

We live on a 10 hectare farm, have dairy sheep and goats (for cheese, yogurt, and milk), three ponies (for the kids in the summer months), two pigs and some chickens. We have a large vegetable garden and an orchard. From May till September we run a small campsite where families can experience the wonderful life of living on a farm in beautiful rural Slovakia. It is a great place if you like nature, animals and people. Several hikes start direct from the campsite.

We = an international family of three (Arnold, Bernadette and our daughter Katinka) which have settled after an international life in 2008 'in the middle of no-where' of beautiful Slovakia.

We have a private wagon for our helpers which is very suitable for a couple or two friends, or just one helper. The wagon has a small kitchen where you can cook. We share lunch and dinner, we cook in turns most time of the year. You make your own breakfast (with our products) and you decide how late you will have it :) If you rather like to cook and eat alone all products we produce on our farm (dairy, meat, vegetables when available) bread and basics are on our account. In Spring and Autumn we do prefer couples, it can be lonely here. We meet during the day and meals however during your time of you should be able to entertain yourself.

So far we have had great experiences with exchange helpers. We would like to go on meeting nice people and getting help in this way. Come and have a great time on our Farm and Camp site.

Latest news: We still have a volunteer vacancy for October.

From April till October we welcome volunteers on our farm and campsite.

In April, May and June we have lambs and get ready for the camping season, help is needed with things like mowing grass, working in the vegetable garden, erecting tents and some construction work. Lot of work is farm work. Rather physical. However we will see together what need to be done and what you like to do.

In July and August you assist us with the campsite (mowing grass, horse riding with children, cleaning tents, face painting children, sport with kids) and some on the farm (bringing water to the animals, checking fences, weeding in the vegetable garden), it might also involve shopping in the towns around us (to get things for the campsite or farm) so if you can drive a car that will be very practical. If you can cook that is great too. We will see together which tasks suits you the best.
Guest and helpers easily mix during the summer months, so enjoying interaction with families from all over Europe is a big plus in July and August.

In September and October the help can be on the farm including cleaning stables, or cutting wood or maintenance of our buildings (like painting).

We prefer couples in the Autumn and Spring since it is calm and quiet over here or people who do not mind solitude

Of course you can learn to milk a goat and you are welcome to experience different types of 'farm work' if you want to!

We are always looking for optimistic and nice people who like other people incl. children, animals and nature. Our ideal helper is friendly, responsible, self motivated and we can count on her/him.

We have a private wagon for our volunteers with a bed, kitchen, table, chairs etc. Sanitary facilities are on the campsite and nice and clean. You can make a camp fire :) or join others who will certainly do.

We have free WiFi, a small set-up-pool in July and August and in those months we have a communal diner with all guests twice a week.

Please note that you should be able to cook since we cook in turns or you cook for yourself! All products we produce on our farm (dairy, meat, vegetables when available) bread and ingredients for the daily meals, tea and coffee etc. are on our account. Private groceries are on your account. You can always get a lift to the local village.

We are far from bus stops, we can pick you up at the nearest bus station (6km) or when you come from Hungary we can collect you at the border (Balassagyarmat - about 22km). Of course we will also bring you to the bus station at the end of your stay.

We are very flexible and lots of things are open for discussion, however a stay of two weeks is appreciated. If you just want to come camping for a few days or you want to stay with your whole family, you are welcome however we will refer to our campsite website where you can make a booking.

We think that this type of exchange should be of mutual benefit, you enjoy your stay and we get good help. We also do appreciate to get requests addressed to us (we even have names :) ) and not a copy-and-paste which has been sent to many places. Because will also and always answer you asap and personally.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use