Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 17900
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 17 hectares
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17900
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 1, 2013

We have been living on a small (17.5 hectare) 50 ewe sheep farm deep in the Armagnac countryside since 1977. We ceased to be officially 'Bio' 5 years ago, owing to rising EEC costs of being so, but we still are unofficially, very much so.
I am British, 62, a professional writer and translator as well as a small farmer, and my wife of 37 years, Deborah, is a cooking writer and superb gardener from Texas. We live here all the year round and have done since the beginning. Our children, both born in France, are now married and reside in the USA. We're beginning to need a bit of muscular help with farm and garden. We would therefore like to exchange room and board for occasionally strenuous work. Ideally we are looking for people with a country background, for up to a month at a time; the help would involve labour in our large vegetable and flower gardens, and general odd jobs like roof repair, fencing, clearing and woodcutting with me around the farm. Someone able to drive a small tractor and handle a chainsaw will be preferred, with a basic command of French: the latter would be an advantage in this extremely rural area of France, though not essential. What we can offer in return is comfortable accommodation (bedroom and private shower)in a very beautiful old house, a large swimming pool, an extensive library, abundant and excellent home produced food and local wine, regular contact with the village community, and the knowledge that we ourselves have accumulated from many years of living in the French countryside.
The nearest village, Lupiac, has a general store and garage and is 2 km from where we live. The nearest market town, Aignan, with a small supermarket, bars and restaurants, is 7 km from Cosmignon. We are 1h45 from Toulouse Airport by car and 1h30 from Agen and the TGV train direct to and from Paris Montparnasse (4h). We have WiFi and cellphone coverage at the house, and a spare car for visitors' use.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use