Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 18120
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 18120
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 15, 2017

Summer '17:

We are selling our lovely place. A hard decision, a sad moment, but also exciting..

We could really do with help for a week, or so, packing books etc. in boxes and so on - if the right person comes along: autonomous, engaging and interested in real food and the good life.

We are (almost always) looking for a childminder (that is, someone who is patient with, attentive to and have an interest in going for walks, playing and talking with children!) - especially if you can speak Spanish and/or Danish to a German, English and French speaking 6 year old, demanding, energetic, but kind and sweet boy.


Did you read to here? Good, some people don't, it seems, and write to us as if we were an occupational therapy centre or a hotel or a work place with set hours. That's not the case - it's a family home - get in touch if you can work independently/autonomously! :)

Description of our project, which has now come to an end:

We WERE building a family-run "paleo retreat" with a small medicinal permaculture garden, where we provided support for families and individuals who are following paleo, GAPS/SCD, AIP, ketogenic and other grain- and sugar-free diets. This is not suitable for vegetarians, since we use a lot of animal fats.

We are an easy-going German-Danish couple who have lived and worked in many places of the world. We speak English at home - as well as French, German and a little bit of Danish with our son. We speak Spanish, too.

Alongside building a paleo retreat on the rocks, we research and write and have a wide variety of books on social history, political philosophy and activism, piracy, natural pregnancy and parenting, herbal medicine, shamanism, Amazonian cultures, the paleo way of eating - and many novels - which we are happy to share and chat about over morning coffee, under the full moon, or while digging in the soil. We often go swimming in the rivers and streams and know a lot of great places in Ardeche and Gard. This is a fantastic area for walking, hiking, cycling, cayaking, and some of the world's oldest known cave paintings - the Grotte Chauvet - are found just down the road!

Depending on season, we have different types of accommodation available. You will always have access to internet (even if you do not bring your own computer). There is very little mobile phone signal in the village and no wifi signals. We live in a peaceful, medieval part of the village of Lagorce, with the most stunning views over the valley. Lagorce as a whole is laid back and friendly.

Get in touch and let us know what kind of things you like to do and are interested in. Longer stays preferred, at least 2-4 weeks, but if you just want to pop by and say hello for a few days, you are welcome, too! We could keep you occupied all day, at a leisurely pace, but would hope that you would put in at least 3-4 hours of work/day, if we are feeding you, but we are very flexible and first and foremost want to enjoy life together!

We also have a friend in the village, who grows organic vegetables and saves seeds for Association Kokopelli, and who is very knowledgeable in his craft and often looks for help. You would be welcome to alternate working with us and him.

As you might have guessed there are no grains in our diet, although potatoes and quinoa appear for starchyness, almost all of our food is organic, local, grass-fed, wild caught and we often make bone broths. We try to have two meals per day plus snacks and probiotic drinks. You would be eating with us if you wanted, but you are of course free to feed yourself as you see fit!

We are looking forward to hearing from you...

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use