Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 18121
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

suburb of Hobart
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 18121
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 24, 2017

We have a large organic vegetable garden that we try to grow most of our vegetables in (although at different times of the year there is little to pick) and a large house block with many flowers and fruit trees. From our deck there is a wonderful view of Mt. Wellington. It's a great place for a cup of tea or glass of wine!

We are a couple in our 60's who both work mostly from home (a potter/pottery teacher and a furniture restorer/environmental consultant). Helpers may get to help at Salamanca Market with Jude's pottery stall and in the pottery studio. You might get to make something for yourself as well as learning some pottery techniques.

Mostly we ask helpers to weed the garden, or do other gardening chores. We find the garden a never ending job! We prefer helpers who don't mind getting their hands dirty.

Thanks to many wonderful helpers who have stayed with us we have created brick paths in the garden. There is a Chinese section in the vegetable garden, and several French sections near the front door, and behind the studio.In the path building sessions we are always on hand as well. We are very fortunate to have had several helpers with path building experience.

We are also doing some renovating, so if you enjoy painting contact us. One of our wonderful French helpers proved to be quite a painter!!

We lead busy, interesting lives.

Have a look at our websites :

We have a large old house,and the room where our helpers stay is large and comfortable with a queen size bed. Wi Fi is available. We usually eat together and you will get to enjoy wonderful meals!
We live 2 kms from Hobart city, with a bus stop outside and we are very close to shops. There are bike tracks nearby and we have bikes and helmets you can borrow.

We prefer helpers who have had help-x experience, and who don't mind a bit of mess within wonderful surroundings. We expect an average of 5 or 6 four hour work sessions, but you won't need to spend any money on food when you are with us, and you will be very comfortable. So you don't have to work every day, and we encourage you to get out and about exploring beautiful Hobart with all it has to offer (Salamanca Market, MONA, beaches, walks, the museum and Mt Wellington and more).

Couples are preferable, but an interesting energetic single is always welcome.

(No smoking, nuts or perfumes please!!)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use