Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 18279
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 18279
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 12, 2013

Hello! We are looking for helpers to start in January.

We are Rob, a landscape gardener and environmental scientist. And Jack, a studying architect. Together we are trying to create a small self sufficient property on an old abandoned hippie commune near Malmsbury, an hour north of Melbourne.

There is lots of work to be done, but we mainly need help with setting up a small organic veggie patch and orchard, as well as many different construction projects.

Pick up, and drop off from Melbourne is possible.

We have both done helpxing in Europe and loved the experience and now have decided to give hosting a try!

We currently have solar power, tank water and composting toilet set up. But are now looking to expand this to include an organic veggie garden, small orchard, possibly goats, sheep or even lamas! The construction work to be done includes an outdoor entertaining area, paving, stone walls, pizza oven, bathroom fit out, deck as well as many other projects!

So the work will be varied and we would love to host anyone who is enthousiastic, and keen to help us create a little self sufficient refuge. However people with construction or horticulture/permaculture experience wll be extra helpful to us!!

We both live in Melbourne, but are working on the property Monday to Friday. We usually commute to and from Melbourne for the weekends so we should be able to pick you up from Melbourne on a Sunday then drop you back in Melbourne on Friday. (however this may not always be possible so get in contact to make sure)

We will expect 5 or 6 hours work per day 5 days a week. In exchange we will provide 3 meals a day and a bed to sleep in. Minimum 1 week stay. We will also be happy to show you around Melbourne and give you an authentic Melbournian experience if you want!

The property is situated on the edge of a large area of native forest. It's predominantly covered with forest but there is farm land on one side (There are several wineries open to the public within walking distance) a small private dirt road runs through the property past ruins from the old commune that used to occupy the area including an old printing shed, burnt out nissan huts, a large library which has a pool table and ping pong table and is a great place to have a BBQ after work! Kangaroos and other wildlife are seen on the hill near the lake most afternoons. There are also two other people that live in their own houses on the property.

A few things to be aware of.
We currently don't have a shower, but getting the bathroom finished is a priority. In summer a swim in the lake after work is a great way to cool off and have a wash at the same time.

There are no shops or bars within walking distance. The nearest town is Malmsbury, about 10 mins drive, where there is a small shop with hot food and basic groceries, there is also a pub and a cafe there. We usually take a drive in every day or 2.

The house we stay in consists of two connected rooms. One bedroom, and a lounge room/kitchen. There are three beds (double and 2 singles) in the bedroom so we are all sleeping in the same room. There is also the option of sleeping on a mattress in the lounge. Couples are more than welcome, and can take the double bed.
Or we have a large tent, big enough to stand up in if you want your own space. But you can make up your mind about sleeping arrangements once you arrive.

It's a very simple existence, that makes you appreciate the basics in life, Good food, good company, and enjoying your work. We want to use your skills and to try and make a nice place to be.
So please tell me what you are good at in your email!!! And where possible we will put you on things that you are passionate or have experience in.

If you like the sound of it then please get in contact and we would love to host you in the new year!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use