help exchange   Host 18407
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Kerikeri/Bay of Islands
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: up to 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 18407
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 10, 2020

I am taking on helpers all year round.
The helpers are asked to help four hours for every night they are staying here. I am very flexible with this schedule if you want a day off during the week. Minimum stay is one week.

I live on a 4ha orchard on which I am growing plums, garlic, feijoas and some vegetables. So the helpers are assisting mainly with weeding, picking, pruning.

The work is mainly outside, sometimes it`s wet and it is important that you can bring wet weather gear. I will provide gumboots and gloves if needed. The work is in general quiet easy but can also be physical, so I need people that don`t mind getting their hands dirty. The tasks vary depending on the time of year. I am quiet happy to put your washing through the washing machine with no charge.
I offer free, unlimited Wifi. There is also the opportunity to use my tools for those helpers who want to outfit their car to a camper while in New Zealand.

Vegetarians are welcome here. I will supply you with all the things you need for your breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also local fruits and vegetables will be supplied if they are in season. If you have allergies please let me know.
You will be staying in one off the two bedrooms that are available and one has a double bed with a single bed on top the other one has a bunk bed for single people.
There are local waterfalls and walks to which I can take you if you don`t have your own transport. I live 4km from Waipapa and 10km from Kerikeri post office. In Waipapa you will find a few shops, the Warehouse and a pub. On Wednesday night I can take the helpers to the pub for a quiz night. There are two bicycles available for helpers without transport. It is of advantage if you have your own car as public transport is very poor.

I have been travelling in my youth through parts of Europa, North Africa and quite a few islands in the Mediterranean. After travelling all around Australia I decided to visit New Zealand and fell in love with its people and scenery.

I prefer to communicate through e-mail so I can look back on the records if needed. Please DON`T PHONE or send text messages to find out if I have room for you. Once I have confirmed your stay with us please get back to me as soon as possible and tell me how long you intend to stay initially as other people might also try to get a bed and let me know what time your bus will get to Kerikeri so I can pick you up at the Kerikeri bus station.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use