help exchange   Host 18442
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20, but mostly bush
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 18442
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 9, 2018

Our home (all 'home made'!) is at the foot of Mount Amos in the bush, 34km outside of Cooktown, 15km from the highway to Cairns (we can pick you up from Cooktown. There's a bus from Cairns to Cooktown.) We have beautiful views of the ocean and Hope Island and Mount Amos. There's a herb garden and small orchard (jackfruit, soursops, paw paw, bananas, spinach, casava...), and a few chooks.

We get our water from the mountain and use hydro and solar for power, and occasionally the generator. There's an outdoor hot shower, and a 2m plunge pool to cool off during the day. We have a great library and lots of space to paint/draw, look at the views, instruments to play, we have a bike here too for local trips. A lovely waterfall is close by (maybe 8 km away), a river for swimming in (no crocs!) about 30mins away and great beaches, botanical gardens and walks in Cooktown. A hike through the forest and mangroves (not for the timid) will bring you to the ocean from the property too.

We regularly go into Cooktown and there's a Saturday market. As a single you'll have your own bedroom off the living area. Wifi available.


Caring for the block, gardening, home maintenance, projects, it all gets a bit much and we appreciate the help,

Help out for 4 hours a day and after there are lots of relaxing things to do.

NO EXPERIENCE IS NECESSARY, come and learn and have fun! We are very flexible with dietary needs.

We'd probably prefer a single male at the moment to give us a hand. If you have carpentry skills, that would be a great bonus for us, but any skills appreciated and are no way essential.

Hope to hear from you, Sarah and Steve

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use