Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 18557
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .12
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 18557
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 4, 2014

** News **

- We've moved! We're not in a position to host new pals at the moment but, we have plans!! Thanks for dropping by though and enjoy the adventure.


WE ARE ....

Dave and partner Jackie, an English couple living in a small village in rural Bulgaria. Our home sits on a 1 Decare plot of land where we grow most of our veggies, and overlooks the valley to the hills beyond. We speak a little and are continuing to learn Bulgarian. We are meat-eaters, do not smoke and drink socially. We have a dog, cats and chickens, and plan to have other animals at some point.

Our aims are simple - To feed, support and care for each other, those people important in our lives (hopefully to include you), the animals we foster and the land we tend while being mindful of organic and permaculture principals in order to prevent any further damage to our world.

If any of this listing sounds appealing we would be happy to hear from you and are excited at the prospect of meeting you, spending some happy times and building new friendships.


NOTE: This is the short version about us because I was told to keep it brief :o) I don't do brief and will fill in the gaps when we hear from you. We look forward to it!

OUR OFFERING - A two-centre 'holiday' for those interested in helping us, as follows ....

Accommodation - We've teamed up with other HelpX hosts and friends who have property in our village to provide a few accommodation options. We'll send the details when we hear from you so that we can explain properly. These exclude food. All that we ask is that you house-sit/occupy the accommodation and do some gardening, property care & maintenance and/or general building while you're staying there.

Food - We will provide you with breakfast (if appropriate) a fully prepared lunch and dinner, and refreshment at our home in return for help with:
* General building & maintenance i.e. decorating, building sheds/barns etc
* Small 'eco' projects i.e. rocket mass heating, bio-digester, earth berms etc
* Assistance in the development of a Permaculture/Organic garden
* General garden maintenance
* Animal care
* Domestic stuff like washing/clearing up after dinner, helping with meal prep and maybe occasionally producing some culinary delight from your part of the world

If you work we will feed you, if not, we don't. We're happy to cater for your specific needs within reason. We eat simply but well, and so will you :o) Vegan catering is a struggle for us so can't oblige, sorry!

We have no fixed view over the length of time our new friends would stay. However, our thoughts are that an appropriate period would be between 2 and 4 weeks ..... but we're always open to discussion :)

Sorry, we no longer host volunteers from the beginning of December through to the end of February. The weather's a major obstacle and finding appropriate work is a chore.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use