Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 18786
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Geraldine
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .5
Persons: 1 to 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 18786
Region: South Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2018

Would love some WINTER help: Looking for a single or couple available to stay for almost a week ( 12 to 18 JULY) to assist with some outside garden and inside cleaning work. I will be in CHCH on Thursday 12th, so can offer a ride back to our place and also return trip to CHCH or as far north as Nelson on Wednesday 18th!

Our family lives on a lifestyle property in beautiful Pleasant Valley (just 10kms mountain side of Geraldine). We homeschool our children, with just the younger two boys still at home - aged 16 and 18.

Our property sits in the view of the Four Peaks Mountains, and has trees, creeks, and a spring-fed, home-made swimming pool. We graze sheep on our 12 acre property. We have two home orchards, raspberries as well as a large veggie garden.

We eat largely non- processed wholefoods homecooked meals, fresh veges and fruit. We make our own yoghurt from raw milk and make our own bread.

We also have our own natural swimming pool and camping ground. So you would be welcome to swim or if you like tenting - we have tents or a bus in the camping ground.

HELP in the garden always needed!! Weeding, picking and stewing fruit, or if you prefer inside jobs I have spring cleaning. I also run an Airbnb, and it is really great to have a hand with that - welcoming guests, if I`m out.


There is a lot to explore around our area and you are welcome to borrow a bike to checkout the countryside or bike to our local village - Geraldine. Or join us on any trips out and about.

Our property is off the grid - ie we generate our own electricity via solar panels.

We live 10 minutes from Geraldine, a small rural village, and 35 minutes from the city of Timaru

We would be happy to pick up from the bus at Geraldine or Orari (SHW 1 - Intercity bus stop).

From Geraldine you can travel down to Tekapo, Mt Cook and the lake district or travel on down SHW1 to Dunedin.

We have wireless broadband internet, but it is a limited allocation due to being rural. So you would be welcome to use the wifi moderately.

We would like about 4hours work in exchange for food and accommodation. I am happy for your hours to be flexible - if you like to start the day early and have afternoons off, or if you like to have a leisurely morning and work afternoons.

We take Sundays off as a day of rest, so if you are happy to do maybe two 6 hours day in lieu and then have a day out on the Sunday ( you might like to take the opportunity to head down to Tekapo or do a day trip to Mt Peel or elsewhere.) or are welcome to just a restful day around here.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use