Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 18920
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Castanheira de Pera
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: four
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 18920
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 22, 2013

We are located in the centre of rural Portugal. It's set in the hills just outside the town of Castanheira de Pera. The town is in walking distance and has most things that you would require. It was formally a farm or Quinta which farmed most of the surrounding land. It was left empty for over 30 years and in disrepair. Its been going through major reconstruction over the last 10 years. I have still much work to do. Reclaiming the land ready for growing vegetables,(hopefully organic) cutting down some of the trees and logging, repairs to dry stone walls, making a feature of the stream the waterfall, ext. There is more work also on some of the buildings, i.e. clearing out the rubble and grading the stone, painting ext, ext.
I have a beautiful three bedroomed cottage independent of the main house which helpers will have full use of. It has its own kitchen and shower room and a log burner for those cold nights.
I'm looking for enthusiastic volunteer helpers, for general works in and around the property.

A knowledge of growing vegetables would be great but not essential. There is lots of interesting works and projects to be done. I will provide most of the food, it would be nice to do shared cooking also. Helpers will also have use of my swimming pool which is Solar heated.
In addition to swimming in my pool there is a river / lake not far from my house where I keep my boat, I would take helpx's there for tours and BBQs at the riverside. Believe me the lake is stunning and also beautiful to swim in.
This is my first time I have applied for helpers and I hope it will be a great experience for both myself and helpers. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns that you have and I shall look forward to answering and welcoming you here!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use