Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 18968
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 601.83
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 18968
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 23, 2014

Our home is situated 40Km South West of Dalby. Our family does the sport of polocrosse so we have horses in training for around 8-9 months of the year. We are now out of polocrosse season so now is the time to do any breaking in of young horses as well as continue training other young ones that were broken in last off season.

The 2014 polocrosse season is just around the corner, so in 1 - 2 weeks the horses will be coming in to start their training. This will signal the busier days and the start of a different routine.

Horses are not the only thing to occupy our days as there are still the general things like feeding dogs, chooks, broodmares & foals. We also have sheep & cattle to occupy us at times. This season we have welcomed 2 filly (girl) foals and 1 colt (boy) foal. The time is still busy with broodmares being taken to stallions and regular vet visits. The family has also added another 3 mares to the breeding program with the retirement of one polocrosse mare and another having a season off, and the introduction of a new mare to the many we already have. We are also currently handling the yearlings - one year old and breaking in the 2 years olds.

We are currently in the process of building new cattle yards. For this we are digging holes - with a post hole digger not by hand, and then we have to cement the posts into the ground. The cementing work is rather physical and challenging at times but it is very rewarding seeing the end results to your labour. There is also a rather large machinery shed being built. Currently the frame work is ready to be erected so this is progressing well.

All the cattle mustering is done on horses. For this you will need to be capable to ride on your own when necessary.

With the dry season we are feeding out lick blocks. There will also be times for anybody to learn to drive or continue to drive a tractor.

At our home everybody has to work and things are very busy, so at times we may have a few jobs happening so for this we need people to be able to work on certain tasks without complete supervision. Most days we are outside so you will be dirty and tired but then we have our off days, where we go water skiing - during summer or during polocrosse we are out for carnivals and you will be meeting other people.

The accommodation for guests is new and comfortable. There are air-conditioners - reverse cycle - to help you enjoy the climate. One room is completed with the second to be finished in the next 2 weeks.

The only thing that we really have to ask is that you are a non-smoker. The only mobile reception is with Telstra Next G.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use