help exchange   Host 19452
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year:
Area (ha): 14
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19452
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2015

Having a break from hosting at the moment

We are a small family run mixed farm enterprise.Ken works in Carmarthen and Pat works from home.

The livestock consists of 50 breeding sheep and a small herd of Pedigree Welsh Pigs. All the lambs and piglets are raised on the farm. There are many dogs which are either sheepdogs or sporting gundogs, two cats, two old ponies and a few hens.

We can offer experience in a range of livestock tasks which will include cleaning the animal housing so can get messy!We need helpers who are not put off by farmyard smells. Helpers must also be comfortable around large animals - the pigs are big but friendly!

We are currently in the process of building up a small horticultural enterprise. So far there are 2 large polytunnels and a large fruit and veg garden. We hope to expand the horticultural side more again this year.Some of the tasks for this will involve physical work such as ground preparation/digging. We can offer experience in fruit and vegetable growing and garden/ land maintenance.

There is an ongoing building project which involves restoring the traditional farm buildings and converting them into accommodation. These buildings are being restored using traditional materials. We can offer building experience both in modern and traditional materials as there are two new farm buildings in need of completion and many walls to build including laying cement and block laying and landscaping.

We produce the majority of our own food and try to live as sustainably as possible. Helpers live in the farm house sharing the family bathroom and taking meals with the family, although they can cook for themselves and us if preferred.

No smoking will be permitted in the house and guests will be expected to clean up after themselves and contribute towards the everyday household chores.We do not have time to wait on you!

The property is situated 1 ml from a small village about 15mls north of Carmarthen town, 20 miles from the coastline. There is a limited bus service close by. No mobile phone service can be received in the house but we will provide free Wifi internet access.Laundry facilities will be freely available.

In exchange for food and accommodation we would expect 28 hours help per week.We need our helpers to be flexible and be prepared to help at weekends when Ken is at home taking days off during the week.It is important that our helpers like animals and do not suffer allergies to plants,hay,straw or animals.

We will help transport our guests to links with public transport networks that will enable them to visit other parts of Wales.

Please be prepared to supply a reference from a previous host.We have enjoyed hosting a number of volunteers this year and look forward to meeting a lot more in the future.If you think you might like to help us and are willing and enthusiastic then please get in touch.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use