Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 19551
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1, maybe 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19551
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 16, 2018

June 16, 2018 update: Likely full for July but we are still deciding about August . We will have one room (maybe two) for work-exchangers. Also space does also open up last minute sometimes (but likely no room for couples who want to share a bed). We don't often book people many months in advance, we prefer to wait until closer to the start dates so we can see how much space we have. Some people here stay longer than they initially planned so we don't always know the timing of openings long in advance.

Especially looking for someone with renovation skills/interest, but cooking, cleaning and website work are also fine. Also we have been doing yoga in the mornings lately, so someone who would like to lead yoga classes would be great.
If you would like to help, please let us know your range of availability and preferred length of stay.

We are a 10-person vegetarian community house in Toronto. My name is Steve and living here is also Adonia, Rael and Melanie (from France), Daniele (from Brazil), Hafeez, Nazeer, Steven (away), Swetha (from India) Theresa (from Australia), plus one or two shorter term helpers.

Toronto is a great place to visit with vibrant neighbourhoods, bike-friendly streets, lots of festivals, farmers' markets, waterfront parks and an island park you can reach by ferry. etc.

We are looking for people who are either older (our house is mostly made up of people in their mid 20's to early 50's) or those in their early 20's who already have some experience living independently.

We are especially open to people who are keen to try a vegetarian diet. Every week there are 4 or 5 vegan dinners (feasts) and several smaller meal preparations. We mostly shop at farmers' markets and food co-ops. We have a backyard garden and roof deck planter boxes.

It is also a good house to visit if you are interested in spiritual activities like meditation, chanting, and yoga. Many of us are into spiritual practice of one form or another. To support a peaceful atmosphere, we are looking for those wanting to live without the distraction or temptation of TV and radio, cigarettes and alcohol.

We also have an environmental focus -- natural building methods, cooking with organic, locally-grown, plant-based foods, avoiding plastic packaging and products, and not using chemically-scented products. Other ecological features include using Bullfrog Power (green energy provider), front load washing machine, clothes lines for drying, low flush toilets, a vegetable garden, and an efficient fireplace where on cool nights we can burn scrap wood.

Are you OK with a chemical-free home? i.e: no perfumes, or scented soups, shampoos? Unless natural and organic. We have a chemically-sensitive person here.

Includes high speed internet, house phone and laundry soap. We have guest bikes available.

Our house is owned by one of the residents, Steve, who uses the rent proceeds to improve the house and support the Veggie Challenge, an international online charitable project that assists people who want to try a vegetarian or vegan diet.

We are located on a quiet street (1 block from the subway and very close to downtown). We have a large tree-shaded front porch, back deck and roof deck. Our three storey house has eight bedrooms, a guest room and three bathrooms. We have an infrared cedar sauna and workshop in the basement.

We looking for about 4 hours per day in exchange for a sunny room, full use of the house and basic food ingredients. Our shared food is cooked from scratch, so the more help we get the better we all eat. :-) We can provide some training, and timing of work is flexible.

Volunteer work options:
We may have plenty of renovation projects. Possibilities include: working on some major design changes to create some large open spaces with in the house (involving demolition, plastering and building windows), extending the kitchen, building a new bathroom.

There is also cleaning and stuff to make in the kitchen. You can cook a full meal for the entire house, help others cook, or just make single shared items such as a soup, hummus, muffins, etc. We can teach you some of this.
You can also work on the Veggie Challenge . Some of the work could be adding content to this project. Or helping to create recipes and cooking videos. Or translating pages.
Other possibilities include leading a yoga session, art, crafts, sewing or gardening.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use