help exchange   Host 19608
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Figeholm
All Year: March - November
Area (ha): 17
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19608
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 1, 2019

PLEASE NOTE THAT WE ARE COMPLETE FOR ALMOST THE WHOLE SEASON, ECXEPT FOR:

THE WHOLE MONTH OF JUNE, AND THEN LATER AGAIN FROM MID-SEPTEMBER.



We are a family of four and have small farm at the coast of the Baltic sea close to Oskarshamn. The farmhouse is more than a hundred years old and is located just a few meters away from a lake, which we can use exclusively for fishing, swimming and anything else.

A good work-life-balance is very important for us, and this is also what we have in mind for our helpers. It's not only working here, we also want to show our helpers the laid back Swedish lifestyle here at the Eastern coast. Both sides should feel that they did benefit from your stay at our place.

Hein: I was born in the north of Germany, and my profession as a carpenter has a very important role in the realization of our dream life. Iíve always felt at home out in nature, fishing, sailing or mushroom picking,. I like to work in the garden and cultivate home-grown fruits and vegetables.

Astrid: I love living in the nature and the freedom here in Sweden. By profession Iím a surgery nurse, nature and the garden are a good balance to my professional life. It gives me great joy to explore and try new things, I also like to cook. Because of this, in the garden and kitchen I experiment often. My family is very important to me. In addition, I am very interested in photography, literature, animals and music.

We also have two children, Fridtjof and Fredrik. Both boys are growing up here in the middle of nature and learn early on where the food comes from, that the fish and meat does not come out of the freezer at the grocery store.

You explore the surrounding area by bicycle or walk the hiking trail that passes our property.
We have several boats you can use, both on the lake and the Baltic Sea. You can use a canoe or join us for a sailing trip.

There are forests all around our property, and the Baltic sea is not even a kilometer away from the house.

We have a lot of different projects to start with, beginning with creating a garden designed for permaculture and a self-sufficiant lifestyle.

We are going to need help with constructing different smaller buildings, like a treehouse, a greenhouse and a guesthouse. We also have to do some restoration on the the smaller house next to our home. Another project is building a floating pavillon on the lake.

There are other long term projects, like growing hops, keeping bees and some other animals.

We have four cats and a dog.

We expect from our helpers to be independant and reliable. You don't need to have any extraordinary skills (even if it would not be a disadvantage), you will learn what to do and how to do it.

Inside all buildings is no smoking area, we expect you to respect that. We are non-vegetarians and won't do any extra dishes.

You will have good homemade food every day.

We speak English, German, Swedish and Norwegian. Since we are not native Swedish speakers and want to raise our children at least bilingual, we usually don't speak Swedish at home. During the time we have volunteers in the house, we speak English the most of the time.
But since we have experience in emigrating to Scandinavic countries and have learned their languages, we can help you with both of that too, if you are interested.

Our helpers will have all their own guest room for privacy, and one ofe the first projects is building a guest appartement with its own bath and kitchen.
Our helpers have access to wifi at our house.

For further information please have a look at our website.

We prefer helpers willing to stay for at least 4 weeks.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use