Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 19677
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.3 hectares
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19677
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 16, 2017

We are unable to host until after 15 November 2017.

We are a friendly, fit couple who have travelled widely and enjoy meeting people from other countries. It would be a bonus to have assistance of 4 hours a day as our lovely property and house has lots of challenges.

We live only 500 metres off State Highway 1, and only 6 minutes by car from the town of Levin. We are just over an hour north of Wellington, the Capital of New Zealand which is also the transit point to the South Island.

Levin is a town with 20,000 people and is the agricultural centre for the region. The North Island buses stop there both Intercity and Nakedbus, and the commuter trains. We will arrange to pick people up and drop off Helpxers if required. There are various things to do in our area including going for tramps in the hills, going to the beaches and lakes and rivers, and exploring the lovely farms and seeing how green New Zealand is. There is lots of local Maori history. We like this area we moved from Wellington 8 years ago for this better lifestyle.

We can host one person or a couple, in a double bed. We can host two singles in separate rooms. Helpxers have a separate bathroom with shower.

Our section is 5 acres and is planted with mature trees including walnut, feijoa, citrus, hazelnut, and house orchard. We have native plantings mainly as shelter belt around property. We have lovely lawns and fields with some garden art. We have lots of native trees and are developing our own native walkway.

There are always tasks to do depending on one's skills, tihe season, and the weather they include harvesting, weeding, pruning, propagating, and general garden and house maintenance. We have developed a number of garden art projects and would like assistance in developing more. Some tasks may involve power tools or ladders, but only if you are comfortable with them. We will try and give you options as to tasks that we would like completed.

We prefer stays of 7-10 nights, but are flexible. Work time is also flexible and negotiable. We are good cooks so the meals are very nice. We have a friendly border-collie dog who has free range of the property.

We grow seedlings, propagate cuttings and have a small vegetable garden.

We have a warm sunny house. We live in a safe, quiet area. No smokers please. Wi-Fi available.

English is our main language. Our interests are gardening, art, reading, travel, music.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use