Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 19690
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19690
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 21, 2015

Hello all you travellers out there :)

We are Mick, Lisa, and Jake, a couple living with our 15-year-old son. We have a scruffy dog called Dusty who is nice but a bit bonkers 1 yr old.

We are looking for preferably a couple, or someone with practical building skills who doesn't mind a bit of labouring and cooking. We are not looking for a building expert only someone who can carry out instructions and work happily.

Our project is restoring a large 2 story 90 foot long slate barn and in the process converting it into three living spaces, we are living in the middle bit, you will be staying in the finished cottage, and we will all be working on completing the final 'house' on the end. The building is old and interesting there are lots of opportunities to learn about historical restoration as well as modern construction and design.

We are converting and renovating in an environmentally friendly and sustainable way, so the main building materials are hemp and lime, which are useful materials to learn about worldwide. Lime pointing and plastering, skimming, roofing, clay painting, and lots more can be tackled here...There are also opportunities to work with stone and wood, so carpentry skills could be a plus, or if you'd like to learn certain skills we might have something going on, just ask!

All workdays are flexible and organised on a day to day basis depending on what needs doing what has been achieved and of course the weather. Time off is flexible too.
WORK GENERALLY: 5 HOURS A DAY - 5 DAYS A WEEK this is just a guide.

We'd prefer stays of one to two weeks initially, with possibility to extend depending on how things work out...feel free to give us a call to discuss!

We are 'home educating' our 15 year old son. He is at an age where he could do with a bit of mentoring not from his parents. Jake will be helping to build the house with us. We would favour people who feel comfortable with teenagers and are prepared to engage with Jake and be a positive role model for him.
We are really open to your ideas and input around the place.
It's a great place for a couple or for an individual seeking some peace and quiet. The property is set in a beautiful location on three acres with woods and a stream and pond. Although right now in the midwinter its a bit muddy..

As for our lifestyle, we're laid-back, young-at-heart and like to treat volunteers like part of the family. Lisa works at home on graphic design, and away sometimes as a community artist and Mick, who has been a builder all his life, will be enthusiastically working alongside you.. and if you're curious, teaching you about the methods you'll be using.

We try to live with minimal carbon footprint (but we're not neurotic about it!) and the barn is being built with solar and wood heating. We eat lots of organic food and try to stay healthy, and dinners are typically a family affair, with any help cooking/clearing up of course appreciated :)

We may eat all together from time to time - this is another area where we can be flexible because you or we may prefer to eat on your own sometimes.

The sea is about five miles away as the crow flies and we're surrounded by lovely walks here in Wild West Wales. The bus to town (either Newport or Cardigan) is only 2 mins walk and just a 10 minute journey.
The closest main train station is Clunderwen about 25 minutes away and of course we're happy to pick you up or help you to get around!

The most stunning coastal paths and Precelli mountains are all very close--loads of lovely walks from here! We are also close to Llammas Eco Village, Brithdir Mawr, and near Self-Sufficiency guru John Seymore's home.

Your accommodation would be a self contained unit next door to us.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use