Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 19700
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19700
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 3, 2016

Hi, thanks for looking!We are: James, a professional arborist; Lucy, a qualified homeopath and also a gardener; Harvey (8years)and Ruben, (6 years.) We also have three dogs and lots of chickens....We've been here for seven years, and have already dug and planted many vegetable and fruit beds, planted dozens of fruit trees, cleared land, pruned olives etc, but we need volunteers to help with these and other projects.
May 2016..... The new synergistic garden is just getting going, tree office under construction, preparing for a big charity event to help refugees in France, and a workshop on herbal remedies.......all a go Go!
Need a graffiti artist please, oh and a civil engineer to advise about the epic landslide please ??

Definite tasks here would be re-claiming overgrown terraces by clearing, strimming etc; watering; seed sowing; weeding; digging; growing and care of food-producing plants (training given); rebuilding terrace walls (in stone) and firewood processing/woodland management (supervision given).

Optional jobs include jam/preserve making; dog walking; child care; cooking and using saw-mill planker.

We can provide a basic living vehicle with a double bed, 2 ring cooker and small sink - a cool, comfortable underroom and we have plenty of tents, airbeds, tarps and mozzie nets for the summer months. There is a conventional indoor bathroom and a compost toilet.

We would like our volunteers to work with us for 25 hours a week - the hours and days are flexible, and as we live within walking distance of a river with beautiful swimming gorge, so if it's too hot to work, we all go there!

Early mornings and late afternoons in the summer are good for the gardening, we work in the house or shady woodland at other times. The Summer here is hot, it's cold and frosty in the Winter and sometimes very wet, and the Springtime is idyllic.

We are close to Serpins, Lousa, Gois and Poiares for 'town' trips with plenty of lovely river beaches nearby.

We are happy to provide 3 meals a day plus fruit etc. for snacks. We are an omnivorous household, but can cater for vegetarians and vegans.

Do send us an email and we hope we can be one of your hosts for your working/learning/travelling experience!

March 2016....
Plenty going on to get involved with..... Finishing and planting the new permaculture beds, playpark and treehouse building. Beating back the brambles after another rainy winters growth, finally clearing all the way along the stream!

Sept'14 Firewood's piling up nicely and it's time to start sowing and planting again after the first good rain, which came early this year after a very short, mild summer. Soon be planting onions and garlic.
Plenty of work layering up the permaculture beds to rot down over winter ready for planting next year, also more Hugelculture beds under construction after the great success of our first attempts.

Plenty of work still to do on the hillside too- bit of a tangled mess up there after the storms on top of the garden means all hands on deck!
We are particularly keen on anyone who's got some forestry skills, and anyone with some carpentry know-how would be great. Childcare and cooking are also on the list!

Hope to hear from you soon, Lucy.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use