Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 19704
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19704
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2015


We just had two people pull out from the party, if you're after a place feel free to contact us via our mobile number above (text messages preferred).

We're having a housewarming party on the 21st of March and require three helpers to give us a hand with set up, pack down and some general party stuff. Beer and food provided during the party. Dates required are approximately the 19th to the 24th. Total work will probably amount to 10 hours across the whole time. We're a relaxed group so an easy going, open minded attitude is best.

***** END UPDATE *****

We're now getting settled into our new place. We like to host for between one week and ten days at the start of each month, however we're flexible on the exact dates.

To view a calendar of when we're free (or when we have people already to be more specific) click on our website link above (or go to this address:

We're looking for a down to earth, slightly eccentric individual or couple to garden and help out around the house. There are four of us here (all 20-something or 30-something), and four cats. We're a quirky group, an alternative and open-minded approach is required for you to maximise your enjoyment here.

We're located a 5 minute walk from a tram stop. Helpers will have their own room with bunk beds and internet access (own laptop required). If the previous helper has washed the sheets then you get clean sheets too (it's surprising how many don't wash the sheets when they leave though - don't be one of those people!)
The house also features a pool table (if you can play this might actually be considered work...), a shop front, and an extensive movie and TV collection (but currently no communal TV). The house itself is in zone one of the metropolitan public transport network (approx 25-35 minutes into the centre of the city via tram - traffic dependent).

We're easy on how you want to structure the help you provide, we have a list of things and if you want you can spend a whole day doing them, or you can break it up into smaller chunks throughout your stay.
Help required includes:
Cleaning the kitchen (benches, floor, walls, cupboards, oven, grill, stove, sink and fridges)
Cleaning the bathroom (mirror, vanity, shower/bath, floor and toilets)
Mowing the lawn
Washing sheets and towels
Vacuuming/mopping common areas
Other duties as needed

On a side note, we've noticed there are a whole bunch of host listings with things like "non-smokers, non-drinkers only" and we receive request from people saying they don't drink or smoke. That really doesn't apply for our house. Everyone here drinks. Most people here smoke. We seriously do not care if you do. You can trash your own body however you damn well please :-)

We have hosted literally hundreds of people through the couchsurfing project over the last six years, and about 50 people (maybe?) through helpx in the last couple of years. Feel free to have a look at our couchsurfing profile via our 2nd website link above.
Please note that helpx requests take priority over couchsurfing requests.

As a general rule we no longer host people under the age of 23. It's nothing personal, we're just over cleaning up after people is all.

When requesting please specify what dates you're after.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use