Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 19912
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: now-Nov 2018, Mar2019-
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1-3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 19912
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 19, 2018

!!! Please read this profile till the last sentence - there is a password question in it !!!

We (age 49and52) live on an old farmstay in the area of the Niederrhein in the west of Germany with our two Children (14+16 years old). If you look up our website - it is in german but you get the idea - you will find many pictures of our activities.

Why helpx? As we have animals and plants to care for, we do not have the opportunity to travel often. But we are interestet in the world, different countries and people. We like to have people here from all over the world and like the exchange with them. We had helpers from 19 to 78 years old - there is experience and work for everybody who is openminded, willing to learn or teach us new things and abilities. We like to talk to you and hear from your homecountry!

We have a vegetable garden, a fruit garden with 20 fruit trees, approx 25 chicken and 14 sheep for our own "use". Additionally we offer seminars and courses in wool spinning, bread baking, basket weaving and other old handicrafts which are particularly close to our hearts.

As our historic farmhouse has been neglected for 3 generations, we have a lot of renovation work!

We like to have guests and need help in the green, with renovation and reworking things!!
Plans and tasks for 2018:

- as every year we need help in the vegetable-garden
- building a studio for our Musicians on the old hayloft
- improving Helper Area + Seminar Room
- repairing/building new Fences
- water + electrical wiring
- roof repair
- laying stones outside
- in autum the fruit harvest and lots of work in kitchen freezing and canning the fruits.
- Taking care for our new "Urban Gardening" Project - we rent out prepared vegetable Gardens for a season.

To make your stay efficiently active, it would be nice, if you could tell us in advance your talents as painting or photography, drawing, knowledge about plants, graficdesign, woodworking, gardening, cooking etc..... Additionally we would be very happy about a carpenter or other woodworker, who could help us to fix the roof timbering of the historic barn and stables. They are worth to be saved!

We expect a minimum of 5 hours a day help - a lot of work we do ourselves but which works better by two or more people... and a minimum stay here of two or better more weeks. Exceptions are made.
You will have your private room and a shared bathroom - and we have the meals together! We love to cook with seasonal vegetables and regional meat. And we love to enjoy meals from your homecountry cooked by you!

The journey to us:
The trainstation KERKEN-NIEUKERK to Duesseldorf/Kleve is 2km away, Venlo (NL) 16km, Krefeld 20km, Duisburg 30km. Twenty Minutes by car to the Airports DUS (Duesseldorf) or NRN (Weeze).
Wireless-Internet , Computer and Bikes (ten minutes to the village/shops/supermarkets) are available.

See you soon?!?

Please read and ACT accordingly:
- Please suggest a date and a duration for your stay in your first Email !
- Check that your profile/email says something about you and what is your motivation to be a helper !
- Do you have specialties in nutrition (vegan, vegetarian, no nuts...), allergies, religion or whatever ?
(Vegans: We live with our animals, we also eat them sometimes. Our Livestyle is not compatible with Vegans who cannot even pet an animal (dog, cat, horse))
- Read the text behind the second link (WEB2) in our profile and write the name of our dog as the passwort in your Email !

- We are not taking over your mothers responsibilities.
- We expect helpers to help us.
- We do not offer free mental therapy. We are not a hostel.
- Contrary to the last sentences, many former helpers came back on free will a few times...
- We dont like helper to recycle friends Helpx-Accounts ! Helpx does a good job and is worth the money !


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use