Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 19974
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3,000 sq metres
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 19974
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 12, 2013

my husband and myself live in very old traditional Portuguese house in a tiny Portuguese hamlet about 30mins from the Algarvean coast that was formerly the place where the local farmers would bring their olives to be made into olive oil. We still have much of the old machinery and many outbuildings that have fallen into disrepair. We also have several rescue dogs and cats and we require help to do sympathetic renovations, carpentry, building and gardening work on the land, we would like to irrigate the land and plant more trees and vegetables, and build a more suitable wall around the veg garden from old stone on our land. At present we have 6 rescue dogs, though not all live inside the house and 6 rescue cats, plus horses, one of which was also a rescue. The horses are in livery so there is no care required for them, however they are available for any helpers who might like to ride them, although they must have some experience. The main house is a work in progress but comfortable and we have several spare rooms. We also have work to be done within the house. I also cook for friends as a small business so there will be plenty of home cooked meals on offer. We will provide food and accommodation and helpers can cook for themselves also. We would like to ask for approx 4 hrs work a day in return. We have a good social network and we are fun and easy going people. It has to be said that we are non smokers, but we are happy to accommodate smokers as long as you appreciate that we don't smoke in the home and care needs to be taken in the extreme hot weather when disposing of cigarettes. We are ready and looking forward to meet some of you very soon!!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use