Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 20140
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 20140
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 8, 2016

Hello, Retired architect/amateur painter involved in restoration project SW France, looking for help in the Pyrenees & in Scotland (for the construction of a sauna)to share work & creative leisure for a few weeks in early or late summer 2016.
Our area in France near the river Garonne in the Pyrenean foothills is rich in wildlife, its inheritance of architecture, history, mountaineering and cycling to name but a few.

The house, a traditional, large farmhouse, has been ecologically restored by France, a now-retired architect, combining traditional methods and materials with modern science. Colombage, the old French half-timbered construction, has been adapted for external cladding and internally the walls have been lined with straw, clay and lime, which provide breathability and good insulation. Hot water and heating are partially provided by solar panels.
We are now trying to convert part of one of the outbuildings into a small annexe and a roof of one of the farm buildings needs repair, so we would welcome some extra pairs of hands, especially those with some practical skills.. Accommodation is provided in the main house, which is comfortable, civilised and well equipped; no roughing required! We enjoy all things to do with food, so meals are generous and of pretty good quality (meat-based).
Work is usually about 6.5 hours a day.
The main language spoken is English and we are happy to help non-English speakers to improve their English. We like to combine work with leisure, depending on the season; there is skiing in the winter, relaxing by the pool in summer and hill-walking and cycling at most times.
Photographs show: Front of main house with traditional balconies and colombage; outbuilding to be converted with gothic window over door; corner of pool with solar panels; kitchen; view to Pyrenees; local Monday market in Montrejeau.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use