Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 20241
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cairns, Far North QLD
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: One, prefer female
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20241
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 12, 2014

We are located in the beautiful, lush, mountainous area of Julatten, 90mins drive north from Cairns, 25mins from Port Douglas. Our property is about 54 acres in size - plenty of room for us, about 100 farm animals, and plenty of native wildlife. There are many bushwalks and swimming holes in the area. Julatten is a quiet place - one primary school , one pub and one service station, no shops! There is limited mobile reception.
This year we started developing the property to grow as much of our own food as possible. With a large vegetable garden (and plans for more!), tropical fruit orchard, and lots of productive farm animals (chickens, turkeys, duck, pigs, sheep and a dairy cow) there is plenty of work and learning opportunities here.
Mick is a carpenter/builder. Ying is an ex-medical doctor who now just lives the good life being a permaculture farmer. Ying is also mum to 8 year-old daughter Lian. We have 2 dogs, loveable mutts!
Accommodation is a spare room in our clean, spacious house or if you prefer, you can camp under the stars. We don't have regular set meal times but when we do eat, it is always fresh, healthy, delicious, creative food; a mix of Aussie and Asian food. Cooking on open fire/coals is a favourite. You are most encouraged to make your own food; we will also share some meals.
We would much appreciate helpers that are keen to learn, not afraid to get their hands dirty so to speak. You will be treated as part of the family while you are here and we do expect you to wholeheartedly join in and help out. Depending on what is to be done, work will usually consist of 2-3 hours in the morning and again in the afternoon. The work can be any of the following - making and preserving food, animal care, humane despatching of animals for meat, gardening, building (garden beds, animal pens, fences, bush cabins, etc), light cleaning, collecting firewood. They call it "work" but I call it Life :)
Nights are great for stargazing, sitting around a fire, spotlighting, and playing music.
See you here soon ?
NOTE: as we are a hobby farm, we are UNABLE to provide info for second year visas.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use