help exchange   Host 20313
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Devon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.12 approx
Persons: one
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20313
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 19, 2019

Hi HelpXers,

Mum (Pat) and I (James) moved here about 7 years ago to get some land, escape the busy city consumer lifestyle and start on a path of sustainability and self-sufficiency. My partner Holly is also staying here with us. We are starting to produce our own organic food, water, energy, materials and much more. Basically trying to remove the dependencies we have on big corporations and the failing economic system. I believe we need to re-establish community, sharing, loving and helping each other, rather than pursuing our manufactured need for money, big TVs, fast cars and bling etc!

Short term we are looking for someone to help with jobs such as weeding, potting up, wood chipping, splitting logs, digging, housework, woodwork/repairs, strimming, re-pointing the stone walling and paving slabs, hedge cutting etc. Being familiar with basic tools such as a saw and drill would be useful.

Long term we are looking for someone to fir in with the day to day jobs, and be able to farm sit while we are away. You would need to complete your week trial well in advance of the dates we are away as it takes time to learn the daily routine and we will be trialling several volunteers to select the most suited person who the animals and ourselves feel most comfortable with. The earlier you can come the better. Previous farm experience would be advantageous here. Your main duties would be animal care of the rabbits, ducks, chickens and geese; letting them out at sunrise and shutting them away at sunset, feeding, collecting eggs, mucking out etc. Plant care; opening the tunnels at sunrise and closing them at sunset, watering, slugging and pest control.

Short term you would most likely need to camp in a tent, or there is plenty of room to park up if you have a van, longer term especially if you are farm sitting or stay on through winter we may be able to find you a room in the cottage. We will of course provide food, cooking arrangements to be determined.

Please feel free to contract us with any questions.

James, Pat and Holly

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use