Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 20329
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Montefortino, FM
All Year: Not during Dec, Jan & Feb
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20329
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 8, 2017

We are an English family; Kevin, Jodie and our 3 year old son and 9 month old daughter on our farm of about 6 acres in our small rural community in the Montefortino area, right on the edge of the Monti Sibillini National Park. We made the move here from England seven years ago in search of a more satisfying and peaceful way of life and we have certainly found it! Situated in a beautiful location, we have stunning views of both the Monti Sibillini and wonderful rolling hillsides. Close to many walking and hiking tracks, woodland and river walks, but also only 3 km to local shops, we really couldn't have a better spot.
On the farm we keep a family of ducks, chickens, quail and guinea fiwl and live a very self sufficient life here, nothing goes to waste! We work our land with numerous vegetable plots, growing everything from augergines to zucchini, being as organic as possible. We have a passion for food and cooking, and love to experiment with the various crops we produce. We also have several fruit and nut trees and when the fruit is ripe every morsel is used in jams, jellies, pickles and pies. We also forage for wild produce, combining our love of food with our love of the outdoors, making delicious delights with what we find. In addition, we grow a wide selection of herbs and what we don't use fresh, we dry or freeze for later use, which comes in very handy in the winter time. We always cook 'home-made', from breads and pastries to sauces and stews and buy as little processed food as possible.
We have many ongoing projects, including; fencing, laying water pipes and building animal houses, along with the day-to-day farming life to which we have become accustomed, such as feeding the animals, collecting the eggs, picking the fruit and vegetables as required and tending to the gardens.
We have two cats who keep the mice at bay! Everyone has their part to play here and we hope that you too may enjoy a stay here and help us with our farming adventures!
You will be staying in one of the spare rooms in our farmhouse, sometimes shared with other helpers and will be sharing our bathroom and kitchen, the house has a very spacious veranda overlooking our land and the neighbouring hillside, which is best enjoyed after a hard days work on the farm with a nice glass of wine! We also have tents available for those who prefer to be 'al fresco' (all beds and bedding provided).

Much of the work we need help with is outdoors, so be sure to pack accordingly, at very least you will need a good pair of boots or wellies, a sun-hat, sun cream and clothes that you don't mind getting dirty. It's also a good idea to bring insect repellent as we are in the countryside! We don't wear footwear that's been worn on the farm inside the house, so bring along thick socks, slippers or a clean pair of shoes or sandals as we have stone floors.

We are very hard-working yet fun-loving people and enjoy the simple things in life, we are looking for hard workers who don't mind getting their hands dirty and will be respectful of our home. We are not a hostel or business and we appreciate all guests to treat our home as they would their own. We ask at least five hours of work a day, weekdays, but occasionally will need longer depending on what projects we are doing. Weekends are free, but we still ask that you help in the kitchen with washing dishes and cleaning up etc. We find this way of life very rewarding and hope to find like-minded people to help us with our farm work and odd-jobs, but reap the rewards of these beautiful surroundings.
We plan on doing a bit of home improvement work this year and would be grateful of any experience or skills involving bricklaying, cement mixing, wood sanding and varnishing and any other practical and DIY skills. Of course we always need help with many other tasks too so if you are not experienced in these things we still need you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use