Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 20617
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20617
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 4, 2014

*Sorry we are booked up until June 20 2014*
Hi all,
we are a family of seven (five children, two adults). We Home Educate on our small hobby farm of 12 acres in beautiful Collinsvale. We have two milking goats,one 6 month old male goat(for breeding) and one neutered male that's nearly ready for the pot. Rabbits are bred for the table, three females and two males are our breeding stock. Chickens for eggs and meat and a few sheep. Two cats and a dog complete our menagerie (we don't eat those!).

We grow our own veg and fruit and try to be as self sufficient as possible. Our home overlooks the mountains of the Wellington ranges and has uninterrupted views which are stunning.We are close to beautiful bush walks, being on the fringe of Myrtle Forest. If you are after peace and tranquility with an interest in animals and nature then you will fit right in. The wildlife and birdlife is unique and varied.

We are situated about 12km from Glenorchy which is the nearest major centre and we are about 25klm's from Hobart city centre.
Your own transport would be recommended as we have no public transport in our area, travelling in Tasmania is quite difficult without a vehicle.If you are prepared to stay put for a week or two we can arrange pick up and drop off from the main centre.
I(Kellie) work 3-4 days a week, so there is the possibility of me dropping you into Town if required for your leisure time.

Private, rustic accommodation is provided as is all meals which will be prepared and shared as a household. There is a variety of tasks that need to be done on a daily basis. Everyone in the family has a specific job to do and we require people that are hands on and willing to give anything a go. There is an array of farm and household jobs that are on the go including maintaining the vege patch, helping with fencing, building jobs, splitting wood (with a log splitter, not by hand). If you are up to it assisting with despatching animals, or maybe cooking them instead! A few inside jobs, a spot of painting and light household duties.

We would also love our children to be able to learn things from you.Perhaps your language and culture, cooking skills or anything else that you can bring to our family.
The children are home all day so you would need to be child focused and sensitive to their environment i.e no smoking or swearing in front of them or no wild,drunken nights, (although we do enjoy a glass of red by the warm log fire whilst watching the snow fall, or a cold beer after a hard days work in the summer).

We are very laid back and flexible, enjoy meeting new people and encourage skill sharing to learn from others and hopefully give you a rich and rewarding experience.
Please email if you are interested or have any questions.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use