Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 20858
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.86
Persons: 1 or 2 non smokers
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 20858
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 15, 2018

Autumn is upon us. The season for preserving fruits, making wine and preparing firewood for winter. We really need a couple of strong young guys to help us in the gardens and firewood block, where we have two standing dead gums to drop and cut into rounds and stack to dry for the winter's heating. it is autumn, and the living is about fresh salads, home raised meats, fresh vegetables and home made wine, beer and some of work now the gardens are reacting to recent rains.
The property is one of the best examples of self sufficiency you will have the opportunity to visit in NZ. Some nice worm farms have been re-constructed, solar PV panels and an electric car to see weeding and tending the animals and small projects to help us with. Also we are involved in organising a 300 Ha pest free zone in the Kaimai Mamaku SFP, so you get and insiders view on possum and rat control up the end of the road.

We live simply, majoring in self sufficiency and a gentle footprint on earth. We mostly eat home grown produce. We are dairy free, but make our own Oat/almond milk.
We love making new international friends from HelpX.

If the weather is good, there is lots of interesting stuff to help us with.
Please get in touch, when you have read our whole posting. There is a gap in mid - end December.
In summer, we have so many requests we are sorry to have to turn down so many great people. It is best to book at least a month in advance if you would like to stay with us.
When you send us a request, you should use our names, then we know you have read our profile. We prefer two workers at a time.
We are a gay couple and have a simple living lifestyle block 20 minutes out of Tauranga, dedicated to sustainability and self sufficiency with sheep, chickens, ducks and dogs.
There is no access by public transport.
We can teach wine making skills, mostly in autumn, as well as share our experiences in gardening, vegetable and fruit preservation, bottling, and drying as well as turning fruit, sugar and water into wine.
We hope you will have a choice of tasks to do for a minimum of five hours daily, in return for full board and homemade wine. :-) We like to have simple projects, such as a new chicken room, berry cage or sheep shelter so you have a sense of accomplishment. Then there's always weeding :-)
Food wise we can do vegetarian, vegan [with help] as well as home reared omnivorous catering. To sleep, you may have the spare double bedroom, or a pop-top camper outside or couch according to availability. We have broadband, but appreciate no Skype video calls, voice only, due to limited broadband in common with most of NZ :-(
When you apply, mention Dogwood Green to show you read to the end :-) Bonus points

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use