Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21138
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

County Donegal
All Year: No
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 21138
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 20, 2013

Dear Helpers: we are fully booked now until the middle of August! Afterwards we will need to get some renovation work done in our house as it turns out we have a leak in the water system. That means we have to dig up the bathroom and re-pipe half the house. Therefore we unfortunately cannot take in any helper for the foreseeable future.

County Donegal: We are two German sisters (and a cat!) who run a small holiday house business in a very beautiful area of County Donegal.
We want to grow organic vegetables and fruit for ourselves and probably also for our holiday guests.
We have projects like creating a herb garden, planting clusters of hedging and/or trees, creating a hillside garden, building simple dry stone walls and steps, making paths and so on.
We are looking for somebody to help us with these projects as well as with a variety of other tasks, including garden work (weeding, planting, clearing, grass cutting, digging, filling raised beds to make them ready for planting), paint jobs (small outhouse, garden furniture, decking, maybe inside the house if the weather is bad), small repair jobs all around the house.
Please note that part of the work can be physically demanding (for example moving heavy stones) and includes handling of heavy machinery like a strong motor mower and a motor brush-cutter/strimmer on uneven and hilly and/or wet ground. Therefore a certain amount of physical strength is needed, although we used to do it ourselves, so women can do it as well as men.
Our house is located in a very scenic area of Donegal, on a quiet back-road (next village with pub and supermarket is about 20 min by foot, 3 min by car), with three lakes around us. We have the most beautiful beaches within a few minutes drive, plus incredible mountainside and coastline. People are lovely, friendly and helpful.
We have WiFi in the house, plus plenty of books, DVDs and a good TV. If you happen to be a Lord of the Rings fan you will consider yourself lucky in our house ;-D
It would be fantastic if you had your own transport as public transport is nearly non existing in Donegal. We are also happy to take you with us when we go to places or drive you at odd times, but we may be very busy during the summer months and won't be able to drive you around a lot.
You will have your own room in our house, the bathroom will have to be shared.
You are very welcome to share in our daily life.
We'll be happy to introduce you to our friends, and you will have the opportunity to see how life is in a small seaside community.
Our food is plain, but healthy. We can cater for vegetarians, but are not vegetarians ourselves.
Strictly non-smoking, please, and no drinking in the house.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use