Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21173
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: 1st to mid Sept 2017
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21173
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 1, 2017

Anyone available now? We have been let down by a helper, we can host you for 1 up to 2 weeks. We live in Rugby, a safe and traditional old English market town in the West Midlands where the sport was born and near the river Avon. We are only an hour from London by train. We need 2 more Helpers for 2 weeks to share with Nadine from Canada. Stay 1 or 2 weeks or less.

We speak English, Spanish, and Italian, lived in Italy for more than 30 years running a villa rental, recently retired in UK.

I welcome helpers who can work on their own initiative, strong and willing.

We are moving house, again!, (need bigger spaces), and need help, ferrying boxes over and sorting at the new house.
The move distance is 2 miles; we will have a Man- and-a-Van service to move large items of furniture. It is important that at least one helper has a valid driving licence and can drive our non-automatic car to and from each house.

Taking boxes and pictures in our car to the new house.
Helping to unpack small items.
Putting up pictures.
Putting up shelves.
Chalk painting two vintage furniture items.
Making basic shelving from planks.
Varnishing/painting shelves for books.
Wax/spray polishing furniture.
Bleaching and varnishing small decking area.
Putting up trellises, potting a few flowering plants.
Ebay loading personal items for sale.

Helpers stay in a bedroom, sometimes sharing a twin room with another helper. Or on a futon bed in the sitting room.
(No,girls you don't have to share with the boys!!)

All meals provided, also bedding and towels.

Mature Helpers welcome, also young helpers with experience and self motivation. Must be polite, caring, thoughtful and friendly.

I can pick up at the local bus or railway station, in Rugby or Coventry.

Over the last four years we've enjoyed having really lovely Helpers who injected happy vibes into our lives. See their comments below. Unhappily, we also had a few unsuitable people whom we had to ask to leave.

I'm very tidy, and have a lot of sincere friendship to give when help is done well and our characters are compatible.
We are not excessively structured, but busily relaxed non time wasters.

I am a young minded oldie,73, with an active mind, too much to cope with, old bones, a bad back and a weak heart. I enjoy the company of both young and older people.

At the end of your arranged help time, you can stay on and enjoy, to make up for extra time during the Help Exchange period, or take a longer break mid stay. Visit Birmingham, Coventry, Cambridge, Stratford-on-Avon, Warwick.

We eat at table, with cutlery and plates, no boxes or cartons. No mobile phones at table, sorry. The time preparing simple meals and clearing up, is not considered as help time, this is something we share. Early rising is not an issue, no fixed time table to keep to, each day may be different. I appreciate 4 to 5 hours daily help from Fast Workers, and longer if the output is snail pace. The rest of the day is free. Two days a week off, (accumulative) to be taken at mutually convenient times.

I welcome Helpers as friends we haven't yet met; presentable (dress, general appearance and language); able to tackle the tasks which we all set out to do as needed ! We do get dusty with some of the tasks, so bring spare clothes for working.
Sorry, no smokers, no heavy drinkers and no pets or babies.
Helpers are treated as family.
We like to talk about music, films architecture, travel, world news and enjoy banter and laughing.

LAST PROVISO (We've learnt from experience!) WILL YOU TRULY FINISH WHAT YOU'VE STARTED AND CLEAR UP ? Will you offer to help if you see one of us can't cope? WILL YOU PLEASE KEEP THE KITCHEN TIDY?
Arrogance and sponging are a no no.

Some Helpers have come back for a second and third stint, you can read their comments, and see happy times below.

Thank you for reading this far. :)
Hope to hear from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use