Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21395
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 21395
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 26, 2018

Please read the following carefully as once you are here I will expuect you to stay the course!!
I only take single people not couples or groups of friends. I also don't cater for vegetarians and prefer non smokers. You will also need to be an animal lover - especially of dogs!
I expect you to work for 5 hours a day five days a week. I work hard and I expect you to do the same. The work is psychically demanding - if it wasn't I would be doing it myself. At the moment there is still some bramble clearance that needs doing as well as conquering other weeds, painting inside and outside of the house and mixing of concrete so I can finish rendering the wall. Also digging out fence post holes and repairing fences. I want to construct a new shelter for the peacocks in the form of a castle - the current plan is to make a wooden frame and use cane from the river and render over it. I am also starting to grow Moringa trees so there is a lot of ground preparation and potting of seedling to do. Someone with carpentry skills would also be good as I have a door that needs fitting.

Days off would need to be taken midweek so you can cover for me looking after the animals when I am away at weekends competing at agility trials with my dogs.

I live on a small holding 2 1/2 km from the traditional Andalucian village of Riogordo, with my 3 Siberian Husky dogs, a working cocker and 7 peacocks. I have 2 1/2 acres of land set at the bottom of the valley with a river running through it and lots of orange trees.

The house is in a rural setting, if you live in a city, you may choose to call it remote. That means there are no people living close by. If you are scared of things that go bump in the night, please don't come! I do go days without talking to people and that is the way I like it! (Although when I do get the opportunity to talk I don't shut up.. I don't take more than one person at once as I find it too much of an invasion. The village is a 40 minute walk away although it is possible you might be able to get a lift some times as the lane is used a lot by villagers coming down to feed their animals and water there crops.

You will be staying in the guest apartment on the top floor of my house. It has a bedroom, shower room, living room and kitchen. There is satellite English Tv, but it only has the more obscure channels since the satellite was moved (No BBC, ITV etc.) . Breakfast is taken up there in the form of toast and/or cerial. Lunch is with me in the form of sandwiches and a piece of fruit. Evening meals are again with me and the food is very English and mostly frozen food bought from Iceland on the coast! A typical menu is Gammon, egg and chips or Pizza, garlic bread and salad, or Chicken with pasta or Some form of fish or chicken in a sauce with chips and salad and The occasional roast chicken dinner, I don't do vegetarian cooking and eat very little in the way of red meat.

Internet and phone connections. The following Spanish companies have a signal that can be received from my house: Orange, Movistar, Yoigo and Masmovil. It is possible there are others that will work but I can't guarantee it. I don't have a wifi internet connection. I get my internet via a dongle with 3G sim card, (The same as you use in a phone.) I have a limited GB allowance so I don't share! If you don't have a dongle or a phone that can connect to the internet then there is an internet cafe in town. There is also a bar which has free wifi.

I'm an artist (currently experimenting with concrete sculpture, mosaics and paint on canvas with acrylics.) I am also a dog trainer and do agility and dog trick training with my dogs, there are also often other people's dogs staying here.

It is a truly magical and special place here, far from the hustle and bustle of the city I used to live in. A place to be inspired, batteries recharged and some where to get in touch which your spiritual side. The river is full of trout, frogs and turtles and has herons nesting near by that come down to fish. The trees are full of oranges, lemons and pomegranates. Nothing beats picking an orange straight from the tree and eating it!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use