help exchange   Host 21444
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: only october to june
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 6
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21444
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 2, 2017

This is a seriously unique, even more seriously RUSTIC and wonderful, 16th century WATER MILL RESTORATION PROJECT, set in the stunning Cumbrian countryside. This exciting, BIG project is close to the Lake District, countless Roman ruins and ancient towns and charming villages, including the World Heritage site of Hadrian's Wall (Roman, AD122!).

Accommodation is in the half-finished, but cosy, mill house, or in a unique travelling wagon, or in vintage railway carriages, next to a lovely mill race (water stream). All of these accommodation options are RUSTIC, so you will need to be tough, hardy, open-minded and adventurous in your spirit!

There is only a long-drop, outside toilet, so be happy with that. There is an indoor hot bath.

I'm not house-proud. This is a working building site, not a show home! I don't sit glued to the tv all night. I like to eat, talk, laugh, and share travelling storeys.

I'm a collector of stuff! I collect wonderful and weird machinery, fantastic bits and pieces are all over the site, so you will need to be very safety aware and cautious; you come here entirely at your own risk. If you are from abroad, you must have medical travel insurance.

This is a fun, unique project with a fun, unique, charmingly eccentric host who is well-travelled and has been on the road for decades too. I smoke and eat meat, but am happy if you want to provide veggie meals (help with food prep will be a part of your hours). I like wholesome meals, but am too busy to take on all the cooking, so will need help with this aspect.

I have two friendly cats.

I need general helpers and skilled helpers. Skills I need are: a builder, joiner, carpenter (own tools?), plumber, electrician, roofer, scaffolder, railway track layer, vintage railway-carriage restorer, mechanic, painter and decorator, plasterer (and mate?), cook/domestic/laundry, land clearer, dam builder, and someone to help me keep the project/yard in order/safe, to sort/move stuff and keep things moving along.

Various dates available; email for more details.Unfortunatly I cannot host between mid june untill end of september.

This is a great opportunity for sturdy, open-minded helpers who want to do something they will never forget. Not for the faint-hearted. Bring strong work boots and a torch, a head torch is best so you can find your way around outside in the dark, there is no light pollution here which is great for seeing the milky way on clear nights.

I've had lots of volunteer workers here before, but have just been introduced to helpx by a mate. I'm not a real clock-watcher, but about 6 hours a day, 5 days a week would be ideal. I can't afford to host free-loaders, so only come if you are willing and able to get stuck in, get your hands dirty and help me to restore this beautiful water-mill.
I'm a lover of engineering and all forms of metal work and I like sculpture, be it made of stone, wood, metal, clay, glass, or whatever. Railway lovers, engineers and fellow eccentrics are all very welcome too!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use