Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21506
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.4
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 21506
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 20, 2013

I live on a six acre smallholding with my 17 year old son. We have a small flock of rare breed Balwen sheep, two Sebastopol geese, five cats and a Jack Russell terrier.We are situated three miles from the nearest village shop, and eight miles from the nearest town. We are looking for helpers to get a kitchen garden up and running, including a polytunnel, greenhouses, fruit cages, raised beds,orchard, compost bins,rainwater collection, etc. We also need help with putting up a shed/barn for livestock, we have no experience of this so will be learning as we go! Our plans include a forest garden, grey water system, tree bog, coppiced willows, bee keeping, putting in a large pond, and various other permaculture type projects. I enjoy making chutneys, wine, jam, sloe gin, etc. I also do a bit of craft, mainly sewing, but my main passion is for plants. In the future I would love to set up a small business selling rare and unusual plants. My son is a musician, we both love listening to a wide range of music. There are many places of interest close to us - Fyvie Castle, Pennan, Delgaty Castle, some whisky distilleries. We are looking for helpers who are enthusiastic, easy going, spontaneous, and willing to learn new skills alongside us.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use