Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21637
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cordes sur Ciel
All Year: yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21637
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 2, 2016

April/May/June 2016. Looking for individuals or a couple with physical strength and maybe building skills (block laying, steel fixing, concreting, dry stone walls, pointing, carpentry) to help with our new pool project, the subsequent landscaping, the spring/summer gardening and vegetable/salad/fruit growing.

We are Bob, Kathy and Mista, an English couple in our mid 50s and our Portuguese rescue dog. We sometimes have one or two English language students to stay. Our home is a modest country cottage in a beautiful part of South West France, one hour from Toulouse and 25 minutes from Albi. We are 90% through a house and garden renovation and always have new projects starting around the property. We like to find old stuff to renovate or upcycle into something useful or maybe just decorative. We enjoy good food and wine, the countryside, walking, hiking, exciting cities, travelling, music, movies, chilling out. Kathy also loves to sing, and has joined a local band.

Whilst we both love animals, we do eat meat. We are looking for a couple or two good friends who are happy to share a room, but not necessarily a bed. Helpers should be happy to work five hours per day (25 per week), like dogs, be reasonably fit and healthy, and be flexible/adaptable with regard work. Renovation, gardening and maintenance skills are a always a bonus. In return we offer very comfortable accommodation, great food, and some lively discussion after a glass of wine. Afternoons/evenings are yours to relax, explore the local countryside, swim in a lake/river/pool, walk the dog, learn some French or English, visit local sights. Kathy is a great cook and is happy to share her knowledge in the kitchen. Bob is pretty good with machinery (old Land Rover, and a small garden machinery repair business), and is handy around the house, having renovated a number of old properties over the past 30 years. We would like to improve our French and so French speakers, whether native or not, are most welcome. Bob has also recently qualified as a TEFL teacher, and would be happy to exchange English for French teaching.

We are a practical and pragmatic couple who just want to get on with life, without the continual interference from big government. Whilst we certainly care about the environment, we are not eco warriors trying save the planet and live completely off grid, and we are definitely not middle aged hippies living on welfare looking for free labour. We don't do drugs except alcohol.

Usually, we have some stone walls to point or maybe build, furniture to restore, shutters to paint, food to prepare, and always grass to cut weeds to pull, and veggies and salad tend to, preserves and chutney to make in the late summer, and always a house to keep clean. The work can be as varied as you like, and we are happy to share our knowledge and teach you new skills, if we can. We won't run out of stuff to do!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use