help exchange   Host 21648
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 21648
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 20, 2016

Our home is located walking distance from the gorgeous hinterland town of Maleny and Mary Cairncross National Park. We are a short distance from the world famous Australia Zoo (started by Steve Irwin) and the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains. We are also a short, 25 minute bus ride from the Sunshine Coast beaches of Caloundra or a bit further to Coolum and Noosa.

We have about an acre of land with chickens, some fruit trees and the beginnings of a permaculture garden. There are many walking trails dotted around the area for nature-lovers, including Gardners Falls, a waterfall and swimming hole for those hot summer days and Baroon Pocket Dam. A little further is Kondalilla Falls and the historic towns of Mapleton and Montville. Just gorgeous.

There are many small and medium activities that can be done by helpers at any time, including mowing the lawn, potting of plants, feeding chickens & cat, weeding, dishes, helping with the children and general cleaning up. Ideally, we are looking for 1-2 helpers (there is only one bed) who are happy, love kids, don't mind getting dirty & can work unsupervised. The duties are mostly light to moderate and will vary as needs arise and change.

Minimum stay is 2 weeks but we'd prefer a helper who would like to stay longer, since it always takes time to 'settle in'. Helpers stay in a private area close to the main house with a queen-sized bed and separate shower/basin. We have electricity and wifi internet but no TV/DVD. To access wifi, you'll require your own device and please bring headphones if you like loud music.

PLEASE NOTE: We have allergies to synthetic fragrances. We DO NOT allow foul language, smoking, drugs or alcohol on our property EVER. Helpers must be presentable and dressed appropriately whilst on our land. A good example must be set in front of our children at all times and respect for all is required.

We are quiet, peace-loving people who live a healthy, country life with our 2 kids, dog and cat. We go to bed early and enjoy serenity. We are looking for like-minded, respectful people seeking to improve their English whilst obtaining a great Australian country experience.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use