Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21830
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

county cork
All Year: march -october
Area (ha): 1 hectare
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21830
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 25, 2016

We are a family homestay on 1 hectare of mixed woodland on the foothills of the Boggera Mountains at 1000 feet above sea level with beautiful panoramic views.
We have been gardening for the past 20 years on a chemical free basis and are very passionate about what we do.
Mainly we work on filling our polytunnel with many varieties of veg each year. We also have outdoors beds which need to be maintained. Helpers must be willing to do physical work also like gathering and cutting firewood and gathering stones to clear new ground.
We have a small flock of various breeds of hens giving us tasty eggs.
Our pride and joy is our 4 year old sow who leads a very happy and free range life We produce our own pork.
Last but not least we have an lovely family dog called Lucky who is very friendly and a new puppy called bonny who is a real live wire!
Our home is 10 kms from the nearest market town of Macroom which has a very varied artisan food market each week. The nearest city is Cork which is 1 hour by car. This is a very welcoming and cultural city and we are also within a hours drive of the town of Killarney which has exceptional natural beauty. Of course just on our door step is a rich heritage of historical sites including wedge tombs and standing stones. We are surrounded by quite and peaceful roads which are ideal for walking and cycling. We would be delighted to show any guests all theses special places.
Accommodation is a studio which is separate from our house. Toilet and shower facilities are in the main house which is used by our family also.
We would like guests to work 4 - 5 hours a day depending on weather (we are flexible)doing gardening, tending to animals, fencing, chopping wood, collecting stones and general maintainance of our land. We are open to help with cooking and housework in exchange for accommodation, tasty meals, access to the internet and possibilites of outings.
It you have your own transport it is a great advantage but not essential - just be aware that we live in a rural setting which needs transport to nearest town. We look forward to hearing from people who are enthusiastic, interested and willing. We are looking for somebody with a good level of English.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use