Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21898
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): n/a
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21898
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 22, 2018


We are a family of 3 Roberto (my husband), Rober (our kid 2 years old) and Patricia(me)). After we discovered this website we try to know the world through the eyes of locals instead to be hosted in a hotel without knowing anyone.

Our house is in a suburb (El Señorio de Illescas) of ILLESCAS, a town close to Madrid and Toledo, just in the middle of the two cities (35km from Madrid and the same distance to Toledo). Illescas is the main city of this area,and with around 25.000 inhabitants it has almost everything someone can need (several supermarkets, pharmacies, gyms, sport centers, library, book shops, some schools and high schools, elderly house, a lot of bars and shops, gardens,...). It's very well communicated with Madrid and Toledo. There are buses (15 minutes walking from our house) with a frequency of at least 30 minutes to both cities. The trip takes around 20 minutes by car and 30 minutes by bus (it depends on the traffic) to the south of Madrid (Plaza Eliptica) . There are other cities not far away from here like Segovia, Aranjuez, El Escorial, Chinchón, Avila, Salamanca, Valladolid,..... that are very turistic and you could also visit while you are here. We have maps, advices, and a lot of information that we'll be more than glad to share with you.

Rober comes back from the school around 17.15 pm, so it would be in the afternoon when we would need your help. You'll have free all the mornings to travel, going to class, or whatever you want to do. The normal SCHEDULE would be from 17.30 to 20.30 in the afternoon, and Saturday and Sunday mornings. You'll have 2 DAYS FREE, but it´s not decided when yet so you and we could talk about that when you are here.
The maximum hours expected will be 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. Some of those 5 days Rober will not be ready to be with you (sometimes Rober's grandparents come, or he might go anywhere, or whatever other reason that doesn't come to my mind in this moment) so we would like that you to help us with the chores or with whatever you think you can help.

Rober understands a lot of things in English, and after a period in which he only heard that lenguage but didn't say anything, in the moment in which he felt the necesity to talk to play with English kids he started to talk in that language. After that moment he keeps talking in that language to people that he knows that don't speak Spanish. Regarding Chinese, he started last year with it so he only knows some words and songs, but he likes learning it. We know that this is the best moment to start learning a new language because they don't have any effort to learn and the pronunciation is not going to be the same if the start when they are older.

We are looking for someone who wants to teach its own mother tongue to Rober by playing, not just someone who is siting down looking how Rober plays. We would like that person to read or make up stories, play with him, look up apps in the net to play with him,.....anything that you consider is good for him to learn will be fine. We have a lot of material that you can use, books, puzzles, websites, songs, flash cards,.....and also we can buy whatever you consider is necesary. It's not a hard activity but you have to like it , othewise maybe this is not going to be very enjoyable for you. If you have some experience with children, that would be great, but otherwise what is really important it that you LOVE TEACHING AND PLAYING WITH OUR KID. Also it is very important for us that you are NATIVE SPEAKER OR HAVE A PROFICIENCY LEVEL IN ENGLISH/MANDARIN.

We would appreciate someone proactive who understands what living in a family means in terms of cooperation (basic things like laying and clearing the table, tidying up, taking things out of the dishwasher, washing things after dinner or lunch,.....) without us having to tell what to do all the time...

From the minute you arrive you will be treated as one of the family and we will also look after you as such. We hope you look after our house and our family as if it was yours. As a precaution, we ask a copy of your PASSPORT, I hope you understand and respect this since we are opening our family and house to someone who we would not like have any bad intention.
If you want to join to us to the plans we do, we´ll be pleased to introduce to our family, friends,... and try you have as much fun as possible.

You should have your own HEALTH INSURANCE and bring the card with you to cover any unexpected medical care.

If you think that you could be the person we´re looking for (you like teaching, like babies, are trustworthy, hardworking, has initiative ....') , don't hesitate to write to us.

I've tried to let everything clear in our profile, but it may be I forgot something so if you have any doubt don't hesitate to ask it, since is preferably to let everything clear in advance.

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile and I hope we're the family that you're looking for.

Please feel free to contact our previous helpers (friends) to ask for a first hand opinion of our facilities and the type of help we ask for.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use