Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 21947
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Castillon du Gard
All Year: May-June
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 21947
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 28, 2013

Bonjour. I am Jean-Sébastien, a French veterinarian, retired, who lives by myself in a beautiful stone house close to Provence, in the village of Castillon du gars. It is situated between Avignon and Nimes (20 km from each), 1o km from the beautiful village of Uzes, 2 km from Le Pont du Gard (roman bridge very visited) and 40 min from Les gorges de l’Ardéche (canyons). This area is very popular with tourists, has many interesting towns and villages to visit, as well as hiking to do in the surrounds and kayaking.

I am looking for a helper or two to help with the garden that went wild and also with the maintenance of the house. I live in the house upstairs, and you will be staying in the self-contained flat downstairs with garden- and a swimming pool (needs some help too!). The bed room contains a double size bed, and there is also a fold-out couch in the kitchen/living room. This flat needs some help with painting, moving shelves, cleaning, fixing bits and peaces- so it can be rented later in summer. The garden needs some refreshing: pruning the edges, doing the lawn and working in the veggie garden. If you have some knowledge with computers, that’s a plus too. Occasionally, help with the shopping is welcome too.
I am looking for helpers with an easy and patient personality, who have the enthusiasm for work and wouldn't mind getting into the different tasks that need to be done, and who can speak (at least some) French-indeed, my English is very limited (even if I might think I can- btw: someone else is translating this in English for me :-). Also you need to know: I have a passion for alternative medicine that I have practiced through my life- so don’t start me on the topic if you don’t want to hear me talking about it for hours :-).
I am looking for someone to come now, for 1 week up to a month- who could work half the day (about 3 hours) – so you still have plenty of time to relax and visit. You will have to provide and cook your own food. In exchange, I am happy to show you around or indicate you great places to visit (many places of interest in the area), share a BBQ, teach you some French, and provide you with free accommodation (independent entrance) and will help you if I can. Washing machine is available. Access to internet possible at certain times (you can plug your own computer upstairs- no wireless). Plenty of places to park your car/van if you have one.

I am looking forward to welcoming you, and hope you will enjoy the area as much as I do.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use