Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 22026
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 22026
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 15, 2017

HI! We are not looking for helpers right now, if you want to come and help from October on get in touch.

Who I am:
Deborah, an Italo-American translator in my thirties. I've travelled a lot before settling down here and have worked as a volunteer around Europe. I speak Italian, English, some Spanish and French. I moved to this farm in 2011. I experiment with permaculture and am a member of the Italian Transition movement.

The land...
A hilly ectare's smallholding in central Italy, with mostly olive trees. Besides the olives we have a vegetable garden and chickens. Beautiful views! The house is in the woods but there are other scattered homes nearby and a very active local community, with a CSA-style scheme from which we buy whatever we cannot produce. On the farm we make our own bread, beer, jams, fruit juice, some beauty producs and medicinals, and vegetables and eggs of course! Currently everything is for our own use or informal barter, except for the oil.

What I need:

This autumn I am re-organizing work together with my friend Alina who is moving in.. I have been away from the house for work for a few months... so I am not exactly sure! Pruning, cutting wood, odd fixing and repairing are likely to go on...

We ask volunteers to work half-days and try to work together if possible. Saturdays and Sundays are usually free although different arrangements can be sorted out, also depending on the weather.

What I offer:
Accomodation in a small double bedroom, shared kitchen and bathroom. There is a wood stove (and wood), the kitchen runs on gas while the hot water is solar. We share lunch, organic, vegetarian and home-made, and usually also have breakfast and dinner together, but not always (there are plenty of ingredients to make your own meals). Free wifi, no television. No smoking allowed inside the house but absolutely no problem outside. If you need to bring animals check with me... there is a cat here, China, and a dog, Luna. China is a house cat, while Luna lives outside (I am mentioning this in case you have allergies...)

In the vicinity...
Perugia is 10km away but there is not much in the way of public transport. We can arrange lifts, or if you have a car even better. There is plenty to do in the city, a lively college town. Also good for a day trip are Lake Trasimeno, Cortona and Assisi.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use