Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 22033
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22033
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 30, 2017


We are married for 46 years and have a big extended family all around us but need a bit of help with a property that's a bit big for 2 older people. Our 42 year old son Andrew is living with us and he will be a source of information. We also have 3 small house dogs that will appreciate the extra attention.


We are located about 5km outside of Cooktown. It's a small town (2500 people) located at the mouth of the Endeavour River, on Cape York Peninsula in Far North Queensland where James Cook beached his ship, the Endeavour, for repairs in 1770.

Cooktown has an IGA supermarket, post office, cafe's, pubs, laundromats, bakery, pizzeria, hospital and an ANZ & Westpac bank.

There is bus connection to Cairns and we can lend you a bike to get to the town easily.


We are looking for enthusiastic, trustworthy, friendly people who can work individually and take own initiative, couple or single, non-smoker and drug free,preferably 30 years and over to help us around the house. We are a Christian family and would prefer someone with the same beliefs and certainly the same values.

The work we need a helping hand with is maintaining the property, housework, day-to-day activities as cooking, cleaning, home improvements, weeding, gardening, mulching.

We would ask that you work a couple of hours per day in exchange for nice food and comfortable accommodation. There is no set amount of hours you need to work as some days might require a bit more work and others less. Don't worry there will more than enough time left to discover Cooktown and it's surroundings.


In return for the help you would have your own flat under the house with a king size bed, separate living room, bathroom, toilet and shower. We also have a swimming pool that you can enjoy. You will also be able to use the internet for basic use so you can stay in contact with the family. A washing machine and clothesline are available for use.

Phone reception is very limited around the house and even Telstra users might not get any.
There is however good coverage in town for both Optus and Telstra.

If you love wildlife, if you like good food and to have lots of fun learning from one another, wonderful walks and beautiful surroundings you won't be disappointed.

Good luck with your search and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Rae & Ivan

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use