Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 22094
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22094
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 25, 2018

For May 2018. I would welcome a practical couple or 2 people to stay for up to a month and help me get ready for B and B, and some simple building and landscaping projects in the garden, such as rebuilding raised beds.

Useful skills would be simple carpentry, decorating, gardening, sewing, cleaning. I have noticed that a practical approach combined with attention to detail and positivity are as valuable as skills or experience.

My home is an old mill in a large village in mid Wales. It's a quiet house and garden on the riverside and its about 5 miles from the sea. There are train stations at the nearest towns Aberystwyth, and Machynlleth and buses to the village. This is a beautiful area with many walks and the Wales Coastal Path passes 2 miles from the house. Talybont is a friendly lively place, with 2 pubs, shops, hairdresser. We have pub quizes and sometimes live music.

The two nearest towns are Aberystwyth (University and Arts Centre)and Machynlleth, (regular festivals and live events, a place where many sustainability projects are happening). The Centre for Alternative Technology is half an hour away on the bus.

For each night stayed I am asking for 5 hours of help, plus to share cooking and a small amount of daily housework, eg washing up or cleaning. For my part I provide very high quality organic vegetarian or vegan food, and private comfortable sleeping accommodation and I hope helpers will find the exchange fair in value.

I aim to live in a sustainable way, and all "work" here is done with this in mind. The household is organised to conserve energy and resources, along with comfort, cosiness, fun and great food. I really enjoy hosting helpers who are willing to support and observe the aim of low impact living here

I am increasing the amount of vital vegan, raw and fermented food in my diet so if you have skills in these areas I would love to learn from you and happy to include this in our exchange. The house is smoke free, meat free (more or less vegan ) and alchohol free.

I meditate and like to be around reflective people who also meditate, although this isn't a criteria.
I also love live music, and singing, and practice yoga, tai chi, and belong to a Lindy Hop club in Aberystwyth

Mobile reception is reasonable.

I speak English, Welsh, French and some Swedish.

I welcome people with a reasonable spoken level of spoken English, French or Welsh. It is important for me to communicate well with helpers. Therefore if you are a beginner in English, I but cannot offer you a place, but wish you well for your travels.

I look forward to hearing from you if this is of interest. And if not, all best wishes for your plans and travels in the wonderful world of Help X!


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use