Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 22256
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Other
Host ID: 22256
Country: Latvia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 2, 2014

As my parents grow older, it becomes difficult for them to take care of their home and garden in summer, but it is not always that they want to admit that. So I would be thankful, if someone could come and help my parents in the garden care period (approximately April to September). Of course you can come earlier or later, but then the weather is very unpleasant and there is little work to do, so neither you enjoy your stay nor you actually help (there must be a very good reason to want to stay there during winter - perhaps - writing a sad novel:)).

You can as well come for a week or two, just contact me to make sure that someone else is not staying there at the time when you are planning your stay, because you might have to share your accommodation (you will share it with me and my girlfriend when we visit my parents - but you will have a separate bedroom).

Since they do not mind hosting someone, I see this as an opportunity to help them.

If you agree, you will be living in a separate summer cottage (an ex-railway carriage). With the Internet connection, hot and cold water supply and basic amenities. Just make certain that you insist that you want to work off your hours and ask for some work in the garden. Otherwise my parents might as well forget that you are there to help:) If you are short of jobs - address my mother - she will come up with plenty of ideas of what needs to be done (ranging from weeding the garden to cleaning the pond, helping to prepare firewood for winter or repairing something). Knowledge of horticulture and landscape design is welcome - perhaps you can come up with ideas how to make their garden care easier - or how to redesign the garden in order to cut the amount of works (weeding and digging) there.

You can spend the rest of your time in town - at the lake (beach, volleyball ground, playgrounds) or discover the surroundings. Since the town is in the border area (7 km. to Russian border), you must have documents to confirm your identity on you constantly to avoid being mistaken for illegal immigrants (Since 1991 the border guards checked my passport twice - probably they pay more attention to people, who do not look local).

Shortly that is the story. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use