Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 22305
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 6
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 22305
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 13, 2016

We offer the opportunity for people to base themselves here on the farm and explore Southern Tasmania.

We prefer to have helpers booked in well in advance. please enquire. If you are looking for fruit picking work nearby the season starts early in the new year.
(Some times Fruit pickers just want to rent the room for $70 per person per week and go off and do fruit picking this is a possibility too.)

The accommodation we offer is a Queen size bedroom with its own TV - in the farm cottage which is close to the house. This cottage has a full bathroom and kitchen available for your use, which is shared by all in the house.

There is also in the 2 single bedrooms and a bunk room.

There is a laundry and another toilet available.

BBQ and Garden area.

We are looking for people who want to work around the farm - get jobs done - then go out and explore Tasmania.

If you are looking for hosts who can sit and talk for hours over a meal - I am sorry we can't offer that - what we do offer is a home base where you can work/rest/play and help us along the way.

We can sign the 2nd year visa when a helper has worked with us. Requirement for the 2ND YEAR VISA IS 7.5 hours a day minimum for 5 days a week. Please note that it is industry standard for our industry . As we do not have full time work for you you will only be able to earn 5 days per week towards your visa.
With us you will get lots of opportunity to see Tasmania.

Currently looking for a helper who can do MANUAL WORK OUTSIDE.
We have a 40 hectare property - 5 kilometres from Sorell Tasmania. Our Region is called Orielton.

On this property we have a Pet cemetery, Memorial Gardens and a Pet Crematorium.
We also have Highland cattle, Scottish Terriers, Suffolk sheep and poultry.

We offer a wonderful view, a relaxed family lifestyle, and the possibility of self contained accommodation. At the very least the helper will have their own room, and their own private bathroom. Tasks we need assistance with our general animal feeding and care, garden care - the Memorial Gardens cover 5 acres. We would be flexible about the hours worked - so that the helper can see some of Tasmania. I am involved with the Country Women's Association of Tasmania and our helpers would get to come to functions etc.
Travelling to and from Hobart is not a problem as we have someone driving in and out each day. We can collect you from the bus or from the airport with a bit of notice. Public transport to Sorell - is extremely difficult.

My husband smokes outdoors and we would be happy with someone who does the same.
Our place would not be suitable for someone who is allergic to animals.
Our main goal is to improve the property and to introduce new farm experiences while taking great care of our existing animals.

The type of experience/ learning opportunities you could have include:
Scottish Terrier - walking, grooming and kennel work.
Highland Cows - feeding, handling and manure collection.
Sheep - we have Suffolk sheep - who require minimal care but are shorn each year.
Chickens - feeding, care and tidy up jobs.
Fencing - this is a working farm and fences are aways in need of some work.
Fruit picking - at the right time of year- we have limited amount of fruit to pick. Also you may want to use this as your base and go to local fruit picking jobs.
Gardening - there are 2 gardens - the home garden and the Memorial gardens - so everything from landscaping to the ride on mower.
Housekeeping - we are NOT VEGETARIAN - and would not really be able to provide a vegetarian or vegan diet for you.

We eat well but plainly and we expect people to help themselves and be helpful.
In terms of work exchange - (FOR THOSE NOT SEEKING A 2 ND YEAR VISA we would be happy with 4 hours a day for 5 days a week or if there is a full days work to be done - then we work til its done and take time off.


INTERNET services in this area are VERY expensive and I DO NOT OFFER FREE WI-FI- please bring your own service with you.

Daily Jobs – what to do
Breakfast – help yourself to breakfast – Tidy away your dishes
• Chickens – give them food scraps and ½ cup of grain, fill their water. Look for eggs.
• Scottish Terriers – let them out of their night runs, clean up poo and put in bin. Clean and fill water bowls. Take 1 or 2 dogs for walk down driveway. Dogs always on lead.
• Pigs – check water
• Sweep off the front porch and keep tidy. Remove Cobwebs
• Laundry – check washing machine and peg clothes on line if sunny – if weather is wet place clothes in dryer.
• Tidy/Vacuum lounge room and Clean off kitchen sink and bench. Take full rubbish bag over to the big green bins.
• Your room and bathroom must be kept clean and tidy.
• Garden – there will daily jobs to do – in one of the gardens. At the main house or down in the Memorial Gardens. Lindy or Greg will give you work to do.
Lunch –– if we are at home - help yourself to lunch – Tidy away your dishes.
You will have plenty of time to enjoy your self.

• Chickens – Call them in and feed them dry food 2-3 cups Look for eggs. Check water.
• Cats –1/2 cup dry food in each bowl on the front porch.
• Scottish Terriers – 1 cup each of dry food. Call them into their night runs. Fill water bowls. Check that the kennel is clean. Clean up poo.
• Pigs – check water and feed dry food.
• Highland Cattle – hand fed with grain.
• Laundry – dry clothes need to be folded or put on coat hangers ready for ironing – or ironed if there is time.
• GARDENS – new plants need water.
• Assist Lindy with evening meal. Help to wash and put away dishes after meal.
Evening meal with Lindy And Greg

Weekly Jobs – what to do
• Chickens clean out nesting boxes – and rake out pens.
• Scottish Terriers –Bath and groom each dog – Dog bath is on the front porch. Hose out kennel.
• Pigs – check water and feed dry food.
• Highland Cattle – give bales of hay.
• Garden – major jobs such as picking and pruning.
• Change the sheets on your bed. Put on new sheets. Wash sheets and towels.
• Rubbish bins will be taken to the tip.

• Our farm has very limited water. Our drinking and shower water comes from tanks and in Summer we get very dry - So be careful with how much water you use inside. Do not run a tap to rinse dishes or clean teeth, conserve water when you can.
• Water for the garden and the animals comes from the dam and is Not for drinking.
• Our toilet is a septic system and you should not put Sanitary Pads down the toilet. Wrap them and put into the rubbish bin.
• Whenever possible you will have your own bedroom and bathroom. Sometimes if there is more than one HelpX helper here you will have to share the bathroom. Rarely our children will visit and you may have to share a bedroom for one night.
• Scottish Terriers are very active little dogs and will kill chickens if they can – take care to be in control of them at all times.
• Highland Cattle – have big horns and are very friendly – you must ONLY feed them with a fence between you.
• Cats – some of the cats come inside.
• TASMANIAN WEATHER – is different every day. Some days will be very cold, than the next day is very HOT, then the next day is cold. We have to work whatever the weather. We have lots of clothes here for you to wear.

• Our farm is 5 kilometres from the next town, and 30 Kilometres from the city. We go into the city often. IF you want to go somewhere for a special reason. You will need to ask us and we will take you when we can.
• We are trying to improve our farm so that International tourists will want to come and visit. If you can suggest ways for us to make the farm more interesting for tourists to visit please tell us.
• 2nd Year Visa, we can sign this – but only for someone who has Worked with us. We do not sign for someone who comes and sits in their room all day or who goes off as a tourist everyday.
• Greg and I are not rich people. To be able to offer this opportunity to helpers we really need HELP, and you can help by doing your set jobs to the best of your ability.

Greg – Works in our business Is in the Masonic Lodge and helps with many community organizations .Works on the farm. He does smoke and works very hard. Greg has to drive a great deal and works many hours. Sometimes you will not see Greg for the whole day. Greg goes to bed early.
Lindy works in our business and is involved with The Country Women’s Association and very much on the farm. Lindy has many important meetings to go to and many people come to see Lindy. When she can she will take you to see as much of Tasmania as possible.
Lindy must run the business office and will at times be on the computer – all day.
Lindy and her friend run a market stall for second hand clothes and will need help at times getting things ready for her stall.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use