Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 2252
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1500
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2252
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 7, 2016

### Do you have special skills that could help us renovate our town house? If you are an experienced or professional house painter, a carpenter, or paver we would love to hear from you!! ###

I (Caroline) am a photographer with a small studio in Darkan. I take family portraits and love fine art photography. My husband Roger is a farmer, running two properties with sheep and cattle and some cropping for fodder. This year Roger is living away during the week for study. Sophie and Bonnie are also away at high school.

We are a farming family with five children aged 22, 18, 16, 14, 10. Matthew works on the farm. Sophie has finished school and works in Caro's photography business. Odette and Bonnie are both at high school.
Hugh goes to school in Darkan each day. Hugh likes to play outside - soccer, football, basketball, tennis, cricket, golf or anything with balls, and he also loves to ride his bike and scooter. He requires supervision when he is home.

We would like you to help in the house with cleaning and general organisation. If you like to cook we would love you to take charge of our large and well-equipped kitchen. Someone who has the initiative to do tasks that they see need doing would be appreciated. There is usually plenty of cleaning to do, and also the opportunity to experience farm life. I speak French, so French speaking people are particularly welcome.

Your accommodation is a separate guest cottage which you will share with Matthew. The cottage is only 10 metres from the main farmhouse. The cottage has three bedrooms and a bathroom with separate toilet. There is a wood-burning fireplace, evaporative air-conditioning, and a small fridge. We have a wireless internet connection which you can access if you have your own computer, but please limit use to essential items like email or blogging or facebook, because we have limited downloads each month. Helpers eat in the main house with us.
Our local community is small but friendly. Darkan (20km from the farm) has about 230 residents and a primary school with 70 children from around the district. There is a general store, a post office, a farm supplies store, a community resource centre and a hotel. Other visiting services such as nurse/doctor/physiotherapist are available generally one day a week. There is a hairdresser and a beautician open one or two days a week.
In Darkan we play sport and are involved in community groups and organisations. We don;t have an extremely busy social life but you would be welcome to join in any social activities as a part of our family.

### We are a no-smoking household.

### We would like you to stay for at least three (3) weeks, and possibly up to 3 months.

### Please look at the map to see how isolated our location is.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use